Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Awesome! Used this recipe for 8.3# prime rib. We like our meat medium rare and it turned out perfectly! I did increase the end time to 55 minutes due to size of roast. One of the reviews mentioned that this recipe won't work in a gas oven. NOT true, I have a gas oven. It was a true 'meat feast!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRW
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
The method is great, I didn't season the roast as much as I should have. Next time will season with more garlic and other seasonings...also...put meat thermometer in when I start to bake it....great recipe...I've never cooked prime rib before...I added water to the pan drippings an a little Kitchen Bouquet seasoning to them and it made a wonderfull Au Jus sauce for dipping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I usually double the ingredients so I can make sure to cover the entire roast. When making a smaller roast I cut the cook time to 45 minutes and then it sits for an hour and 10 and then I turn on for 20 minutes. I haven't had a bad one using this recipe. It's delicious and everyone I pass it on to raves about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meat and Taters Gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Worked like a charm on my 8.5 lb rib roast (I doubled the seasoning, which got crusty and wonderful). If I were doing a smaller roast, I would be careful with cooking times, possibly reducing them a bit, just to be sure I didn't overcook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I have to say, I was so nervous about this cooking method, especially since the meat was pretty expensive and I had never cooked one before. I ended up getting (2) 2.5 cuts. I sat them on the counter for about an hour, and sprinkled salt, pepper and Steak seasoning. I placed in a pre heated 375 oven for 30 minutes, turned off the oven and although tempted, didn't open the oven door. I let sit for one hour and 15 minutes, then turned back on to 375 for another 20 minutes. I let sit on counter for another 10 to 15 before slicing. This was absolutely amazing, simple and delicious. There was enough juice in the pan for dipping and I can't wait for the next holiday to try again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We Like Our Prime Rib "MEDIUM:" Keeping in mind carryover cooking when covered with foil and resting, we pull our 5-6 lb. roast out when the internal temp reaches about 130-135 degrees in the center for some "medium" slices there. This usually means there are 2 slices on each end at "well-done," a slice or two at "medium-well," and the rest at "medium." I also use my convection bake mode for even dry cooking all around the roast. It's beautiful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used the rub and it had great flavor. I, too, was very nervous to make it this way, but I followed the directions. I just got confused when the 3 hrs were up and it was time to turn the oven back on....was I supposed to start timing it for 30 minutes after the oven reached 375? It took about 40 minutes for the oven to get to that temp. I have an oven that has the meat thermometer built in, and set it for 125. I took it out when it reached 125, that took another 30 minutes. I wrapped it with foil, and let it rest for a half hour. It turned out perfectly! The middle was very rare ( just how my family likes it), and the outer portion was medium rare (just the way my guests liked it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was amazed at how juicy and tender the roast was using this recipe. I was a bit skeptical, as other users mentioned, but I have become a believer! A truly awesome recipe. My husband bought us a 5.2 lb boneless roast to have for Christmas Eve meal with our son and his wife. Because it was a bit over 5 lbs and wasn't quite at room temperature, I chose to cook it a bit longer than 1 hour for the first cooking (1.5 hrs). The crust of seasonings on top was awesome, but the interior meat wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. Next time I will put slices of garlic in slits in the meat (as my mother taught me many years ago), that should give it some flavor. I was saddened that there were no meat juices in the bottom of the pan to make au jus, but the next day I made au jus from bullion and that gave it the flavor it needed. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. The meat came out perfect. There is barely enough for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
made as written, excellent!! wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States