Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My first roast ever...came out so savory and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEANNE_STEIN
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The only thing I did different was to stuff a few slivers of garlic into the roast before putting it into the oven. I followed the times exactly the roast was perfectly rare in the center and medium rare near the edges. Thank you for helping with an expensive cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Perfect results! I followed this recipe exactly, and the roast got the most and highest praise from the family for any food yet- It really stunned 'em! (I might add- they're not easily pleased) My only caveat is that I ran very late with dinner waiting for that 145 degree mark- but it was perfect, and worth the wait. I'll just start earlier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this last night - it came out PERFECTLY and my boys adored this recipe. The meat was so tender and the seasoning on the outside edge was perfect to compliment the meat. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
If making this please pay attention to internal temperature of meat.if you keep in oven until145 degrees and then let the meat rest it be at 150 at least- this is WAY past a medium roast. We are a medium rare crowd so I pulled it at 130 but it still raised to 140 before eating. Came out medium well. Overdone for my crowd. The positive reviews seem to be from people who like well done meat. For any medium rare people let the roast sit out at room temperature at least 90 minutes and consider pulling the meat at the second reheat at 120-125. It will raise at least 5 degrees after pulling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly thinking the roast would be rare but it was medium well. Most folks wanted rare so I was a bit disappointed for them. I like mine well done so the ends were perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
There are so many variations of this on line. I had a roast prime rib over xmas about ten pounds plus, I cranked the oven with the beef inside cold to 500F. Once the temp bell went I turned it off and left it in the oven for 6 hrs. Then I turned the oven on to 500F again until the ready bell sang and pulled it out, covered with foil for 15 minutes and sliced. Middle was medium rare and ends were medium well. The best ever!! Oh I forgot to say this was 500F Convection Roast with gas oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Excellent flavor! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I agree with everyone who said to trust this recipe. Ours turned out absolutely delicious and has become what everyone wants to have as our Christmas Day tradition. I was skeptical that the seasonings would be enough to make it interesting but decided to follow the recipe exactly. I'm so glad I did because it was perfect! I did look up a recipe for making Au Jus without Drippings since this doesn't make enough drippings to make one. I also made a horseradish sauce to go with it as well. (I have posted both recipes.) I gave everyone two small dipping containers with au jus in one and the horseradish sauce in the other. We all loved it. As another person has cautioned this takes a lot of time when you add in the hour of resting at room temperature before putting it in the oven. We like ours medium to medium well which I know is frowned upon by many...but hey, it's how we like it. And it was delicious by the way, not dry at all. So, for me the total time was about 6 1/2 hours from the time of taking it out of the oven until the time to slice it after it rests after cooking. No matter what temperature you like your final product to be do not hesitate to try this recipe. One other thing, I did buy my meat from Costco and I bought it boneless. I debated over bone in or boneless but I'm glad I did the boneless because it was so easy to slice and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas dinner this year, useing a 5 lb. ribeye roast coated with evoo only. Followed the roasting instructions exactly. Turned out perfectly at med/rare. All raved about how tender and moist it was. Son-in-Law said "It melts in your mouth"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States