Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Works every time! This time we combined a stick of softened butter with some Montreal Steak Seasoning and spread it on the top of the roast before cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
We cooked a 16.5 lb roast yesterday with this method and it worked great. Obviously we had to change the times, but after reading everything we would i opted to buy a themometer and cook the meat till the center was 222 degrees. Then shut the oven off for 3 hours then on till the center was 145. I pulled the roast out of the oven at 145 and it cooked to 152, perfect! If you are doing a different roast size this will work just fine as long as you mind the temp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The cooking directions gave us a perfect prime rib. We had a 7 pounder. My son and I like ours medium, so we ate the "ends" and my husband and friend liked theirs medium rare - so they ate from the middle section. We did vary from the prep directions. We sprinkled salt and pepper and then seared the roast in a skillet. Then we made small cuts in the roast and placed garlic gloves in the cuts. We made a rub of olive oil, minced garlic, kosher salt, cracked peppercorns and thyme. It made a really great crust. Looking forward to leftovers today! In reference to how much time this recipe keeps the oven occupied, we ended up making 6 baked potatoes in the toaster oven. Worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The roast turned out as described, but was terribly hard to carve. I think if I make it again, I'll have it boned. Does this affect the cooking method?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I used the time/temperature/door shut per recipe. Oven temperature was indicated by an auxiliary thermometer as 365 F. (Oven set point was 380). I guess I didn't know what to expect as the roast internals were decidedly red which was much too rare for my guests. The outer layer of the meat was delicious! I had to pan fry the rest to make it palatable for my guests. (Still very tasty) My big mistake was not to use a meat thermometer, which if there is a next time, I will do. I'm not sure if I have an oven problem or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The taste was amazing!! However, I used a 7+ pound roast. I cooked it for 1 hr 40 minutes at 375, let it rest for 2.5 hours then back in for 30 and it was basically still rare except the edges, so it went back in for another 30 minitrs and then was perfect. Had I used a 5 lb roast, I feel the instructions would have been perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
All I can say is WOW !! My family loved loved loved this and so did I. It was one of the easiest yet most flavorful roasts I have ever made. I served gargonzola sauce.Together Amazing. I did use See Salt, Garlic Pepper in my rub and then pour my Tuscan Olive Oil on top and let set for the hour. Again. Amazing and I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
In my 27 years of marriage, I think I've made standing rib roast twice with such disappointing results, I never wanted to risk it again. But this year my husband was having nostalgic feelings of the Christmas roast his mom used to make - how good the house smelled, the seasoning on his favorite end cut, and I have to admit, my childhood had the same memories. So we tried it again with 6.5 pound "choice" bone-in cut from Costco (not the really pricey "prime" that they had too, although I was tempted based on past experiences). I used Weber Gourmet Burger seasoning and followed Foolproof cooking schedule to a tee despite the skepticism of my mom, his dad and even hubby. The house smelled wonderful for hours, the second cooking was about 35 minutes and gave hubby his medium end cut and the rest of us a medium rare middle and despite the original skepticism, by the time we cut it open, we agreed that with Foolproof we had brought back the Christmas dinners like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed exactly, it was perfect and just as reviewers described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this yesterday for Christmas dinner. It was excellent! Raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States