Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made it for Christmas exactly like the recipe states, and it was really foolproof! Was medium rare-used a meat thermometer, and it was wonderful-served with a creamy horseradish sauce on AR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did it! This was my first time cooking a rib roast. Make sure to ask your butcher to "cut and tie" your roast. It makes it easier to cut and serve. I was a little nervous because it was so expensive, but it turned out perfectly! I cooked a 10.67 lb. roast and didn't change the cooking time whatsoever. I did put a little olive oil in my hand and rubbed it all over the roast. I sprinkled kosher salt, pepper & grated 2 cloves of garlic and rubbed that all over. I cooked it for the initial hour, 3 hrs siting in the oven, and 30 minutes upon turning the oven back on. I made au jus from this site called Beef Au Jus from chef John. It was so quick and easy and it was wonderful. Great smell and flavor. Everyone raved about the roast and "gravy". From now on, a standing rib roast for Christmas Dinner will be our new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I don't normally write reviews but I have to on this one! You really will doubt that the prime rib is cooking but I promise this really works!! I cooked a 13 pound prime rib following these exact instructions and it came out PERFECT!!! I was really worried that it wouldn't come out because it such a large piece of prime rib but it was AMAZING and made for the perfect Christmas dinner! As much as you want to doubt this recipe, don't! You'll be so pleased in the end! Everyone is right, don't open that oven door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Christmas dinner last night and it was absolute perfection. Tender and juicy. Followed recipe exactly. It does not need gravy or au jus. Served with roasted potatoes, squash/apple/cranberry medley, green beans and cherry tomatoes (another allrecipes winner), tortellini (we are italian), rolls, and my husband's famous 'Aunt Jennie's green jello recipe.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The bet rib roast ever! Super easy just follow the instrutions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Perfect! Cooked to recipe specs, and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this today for Christmas dinner. It was DIVINE and absolute perfection. The only thing I did differently was I made a fresh garlic puree instead of using garlic powder. On the advice of other reviews I used a coarse sea salt instead of regular table salt. My husband and three grown sons all raved about it and have requested it be our new Christmas dinner tradition. Follow the directions exactly and it will turn out perfectly. I used a 5.5lb roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I used an electric roasting pan to free up oven for other things I needed to cook and the meat came out wonderful after following the directions as written. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and it always tastes delicious, without any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yes it did work! No one in my family thought this would turn out well but the (very expensive) Christmas 6-rib choice roast I cooked turned out perfect. I put blue masking tape on the oven door so no one would peek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,000) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States