Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years! It always works. BUT, use the thermometer to check meat--130 degrees is med-rare, 145 degrees is perfect--still some pink! (Adjust cooking/resting time for a smaller roast.) Use a rack and roast UNCOVERED, fat side UP. It works in convection oven--but use regular oven setting if you can. Add a good quality canned beef broth for more au jus and mix at the end. I use LOTS more seasoning than this recipe. Any steak or prime rib seasoning works. This year I did the largest roast ever--10.6 lb boneless prime rib--big bucks! My whole gang loved it, even the grandchildren who had seconds. Better than most steak restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
OMG. Amazing, delicious, melt in your mouth awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHOOPTINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Rib roast for Christmas dinner has been a tradition in our house for the last 20 years. When I received this recipe via e-mail from All Recipes I was intrigued. It is a method of preparing a rib roast that I had heard of but have never tried. My daughter was a little concerned that I was going to attempt this “new” method when we were having 15 people for Christmas dinner. I must say that was the best decision I made when planning this meal. The roasts (I had 2 x 7 lb roasts) came out perfect. Everyone loved it! I will be preparing Christmas dinner this way from now on! The only thing I might change is to reduce the cooking time, the roast was a little more well-done than my family likes it. On the other hand it was a perfect medium for my guest who prefer it a little more well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
It was so easy and perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I had never cooked a prime rib before and used this recipe for my first-time effort and it was wonderful. All my Christmas Eve guests raved about it; perfect varying slices for individual tastes. Wish I'd taken a photo, it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I used this technique yesterday on a 5 lb rib roast. Luckily I used a digital thermometer as within 45 minutes at 375 the roast was at 125. I turned off the oven and within a hour it was at 140. At that point I opened the oven door to let the remaining heat out so the roast would not overcook. I was not planning on eating for another two hours, so the roast had to sit in the oven, which was the original time frame. It did stay warm and when we carved it two hours later it was perfectly medium rare and very juicy. I served it was a hot au jus, so it worked out, and it was absolutely delicious. I do have a convection oven, so that may have been a factor. So just be aware that the time is not written in stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Did this for Christmas and it came out perfectly. A a 6 lb roast, cooked it for 1 hr 10 min, shut oven off for 3 hours and after that, baked for another 30-45 min. Ends were perfect for the well done contingent and rest was perfect for the rest of us. Next time I'll add rosemary just to try it. Can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MindyMcC
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I was so happy to find this recipe. A 9 pound roast came out perfectly for our Christmas dinner. I did take the suggestion of others to let the larger roast sit at room temperature a half hour longer prior to cooking. I also used the meat thermometer for the second turn-on of the oven, when I also added my prepped side dishes to oven for completion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMcC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Perfect!! Followed the directions but left it 31/2 hours in oven before turning heat back on because I wasn't quite ready to serve. Still came out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I read through the reviews this morning and decided to give this recipe a try. 1st of all my roast was on the small side, so I decided to scale back the cooking time. I did invest in a digital probe thermometer ( a very wise investment)I had a 2.5 pound prime rib roast, I brought the roast to 60 degrees, I set the oven for 375 degrees, inserted the thermometer probe and set the timer for 30 minutes. Shut the oven off and watched the thermometer temp. I set mine for 140 degrees. Once it reached that, I took it out of the oven and tented it with foil. The cook time was much faster then I expected, 30 minutes with the oven shut off. The prime rib came out as medium rare. It was delicious!! I did rub steak seasoning on the top and sides before baking it. AGAIN this was a small prime rib roast, and it was boneless. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Fahey Goertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States