Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe and it came out a perfect medium rare. I used more seasoning then the recipe called for and you should season to taste. Like a few others, I rubbed the lamb with EVOO before seasoning. I decided not to add garlic but I probably would next time. I did use Boar's Head Pub style Horseradish Sauce. Mmmm... Yesterday, I took the cold left overs and sliced it thin for a Ciabatta Roll sandwich with thinly sliced red onion, lettuce and more Horseradish sauce. It was awesome. Only thing missing was a cheese (brie?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
worked perfectly for a 5 pound roast. this year I'm trying a 7 pound roast. I'll let you know what happened afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I let the raw roast (5 lbs) set out a couple of hours before putting it into the oven for an hour and 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Halfway through I added about 3/4 c. of water in the pan (no rack). After I shut the oven off and left it there for 2hrs&15min. Then I just turned the oven back to 375 without removing the roast to preheat first-- and let it cook for about an hour because I definitely did not want rare or even med rare. I prefer not to have my meat moo at me...so I was concerned that the meat be only a slight pink...but since the original recipe was getting reviews of being 'rare to med rare' I had to guess how much time to add and I didn't have a thermometer. The outside crust was getting so dark that I did not want to 'dry' out the inside. Well with this method (slow cook for 2-3 hrs with self contained heat)it keeps it pretty moist. So I ended up being very happy with the result I got by just cooking it a little longer as stated above. Then just like it says, let it set for 10min. Add some of those coagulated dark drippings to a little beef broth heated up and there is your terrific jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
much easier to cook @ 450 for 20-30min, then drop to 325 for final 1.5-2 hrs for 8# roast or just sear meat, then roast @ 200 for a few hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Amazingly Awesome!! Read all the reviews took all the hints and for my first time it really came out PERFECT!!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charisa Butz

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this on Sunday with a 4 1/2 pound roast. It was good but beyond medium rare ... probably closer to medium well. Just for the record, my oven usually needs longer times than what most recipes call for, I used a probe that transmits a signal to receiver so I could see the temperature through the whole process. I cooked it at 375 for 50 minutes instead of an hour (because it was less than 5 lb) before turning the oven off but the internal temp got to almost 165 before it started dropping. It tasted good but the next time I'll cook less time up front.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Followed this recipe and got a well done roast. Was looking for the medium rare pictured and was sorely disappointed! Couldn't open the oven to check internal temperature. Won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've used this recipe last year for our Christmas dinner. It turned out fantastic. I will make another this year... I did have question about the whole cooking and turning off the oven. So I used a battery operated meat temp gauge so I could keep the door closed and know when it was done. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe for Christmass dinner Follow it exactly absolutely superb I am making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is the only way to make prime rib as far as I'm concerned. Easy and perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kosa

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States