Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I first tried this recipe two years ago at Christmas and again last year. It was so perfect! I plan to cook my roast again this year the same way. I use garlic salt instead of powder and freshly ground black pepper. I do have potatoes to roast, as well, and will put them in during the last roasting time for the beef. Please try it. I know you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Scottsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Awesome,easy ,foolproof recipe! Masking tape oven door....PERFECT medium rare roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is the right method, but 145 degrees will get you a medium to medium well roast. For medium rare, I would not let it go past 130 in the final cooking time. Check the temperature before you turn the oven back on. Based on the size of the roast and the quality of your oven, you might already be at 130 after 2 hours with the oven off. Based on the pictures, most of those look medium well with very little pink. Remember that the ends will always be more cooked, so if you have guests that don't like medium rare, you can serve them the end pieces. And keep the yummy rare pieces for those of you that know better.... And yes, somebody else has published this recipe with her name on it, but I betcha her grandmother was already using this method before she became famous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I am amazed that on every recipe there are people that are able to have totally different experiences than the majority. I can see where gas vs electric ovens . .. along with altitude impacts cooking times. But you would think people would soon learn to make adjustments. But as a friend of mine used to say, " some people can mess up a crowbar ". This was a fantastic cooking method and I can see where some people would want to change seasoning. Can't imagine it coming out dry unless you bought a piece of meat that absolutely had no fat in/on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild_bill_hiccup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have used a similar method for many years. The only difference is; 1. preheat the oven to 350, tent my roast after applying the rub. 2. shut the oven off after 1.5 hours and leave the roast in the unopened oven an additional 1.5 hours. A 5lb rib roast comes out a perfect medium in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Pettis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Amazing! I was so unsure about cooking my roast this way...I had fears that it would come out raw, but it was perfect! I cooked a 4 1/5 lb roast, and the end result was a beautiful roasted piece of meat that was cooked to medium all the way through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe...it's from Paula Deen. Even the verbiage is identical to her published recipe Thank you for sharing but give credit where it's due
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Years ago I learned to make a delicious prime rib roast this way. At that time, I had a gas oven. When I moved to a home with an electric oven, I tried it and somehow it didn't turn out fully cooked. My mother also tried it after my first time and she found it didn't work in her electric oven. If I ever get a gas oven again, I'll make it this way as it really is fool proof! One thing that I did do differently was rather than use garlic powder, I took garlic and cut little holes in the roast (prior to cooking) and stuck a clove into each of the holes. I did this all around the roast. It was fantastic! When serving, I don't always (I still use this when making a roast) all of the garlic out, but if anyone gets it in their slice of meat, it is roasted garlic and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe at least two dozen times. Turned of perfect each and every time! The only thing I do differently sometimes is mix up my seasonings. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
AMAZING! AMAZING! My husband said it was the best he's ever had!!!! Sounds a little complicated but it was very easy!!!! Like every other review, hardest part was not opening the oven during the 3 hours. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States