Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Worked like a charm! Most expensive dish I have ever made & this recipe made it work! Followed advice for med done (10-20 minutes extra on last roast). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane6884
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I'll never do it differently. Strange as it sounds, this works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this yesterday and it turned out fantastic. I added another 1/2 times the spice to ensure a good coating over the entire roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Came out perfect and was devoured in short order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent. I'm in charge of the roast for every family holiday and gathering and this is how I do it every time, to rave reviews. Recipe works as-is for most sizes of prime rib roast, however for larger roasts (my latest was 18 pounds!!!!) the only change I would make would be to increase the cooking time at the end of it. For the 18-pounder, I re-heated for 1 hour before serving (instead of 30-40 minutes) and it came out perfectly medium-rare. If you prefer it more well-done, I'd say to leave it in there for 1:15-1:20. Also, I let it rest for at least 30 minutes before carving. Best prime rib you'll ever eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T using an expensive 3 1/2 pound roast and it turned out rare, bleeding actually and this is after approx. 6 hrs of following the above directions. I started out by checking my oven's temperature, I let the roast sit on counter for an hour, rubbed it with the spices then cooked it for an hour at 375 degrees and after an hour turned oven off and let it sit in the oven and never once opened the oven door for the entire 3 hour wait time. At the end of the 3 hours I cooked the roast for another 45 minutes following the recipe and it was still to rare and bleeding in areas. Honestly people, why are you raving about a method that doesn't work it just doesn't make sense unless you like your meat raw or have similar tastes to that of a mountain lion then maybe but really 'are you kidding me'. I am a mature cook and would not advise anyone to use this recipe. I don't beleive the write-ups on this method are real, there can't possibly be that many people out there who like bleeding rawish meat. Final word of advice, if your chose to ignore me then start early in the day, remember the roast sits on counter for an hour, then cooks for an hour at 375 then sits in a oven that is turned off for 3 hours then back in again for whatever time is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LakanPH
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Perfect. I didn't use "prime" meat, but the outcome was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Absolutely perfect every time. The MOST important thing is do NOT open the oven! You can season it any way you want and leave it in the oven as long as you want after turning the oven off after the first hour, as long as you DON'T open the oven and turn the oven up to 375 for the last 30-40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This really is fantastic, and easy as can be. I've followed it now at least 5 times. And while I can't get over a bit of nerves each time, just because the cut of meat is so expensive, it's never failed to make a perfect roast. Just do exactly what it says, and let the meat get up to 145 on the reheat and it will be awesome. People I serve it to can never stop raving about it afterward, and I agree. I always tape the oven door shut just to make sure no one opens it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States