Foolproof Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I consider this the best recipie, not too much eggyness so the potato really gets to star. Minced onion can easily be substituted if you don't want to cut a fresh one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious! Made this last night and was a huge hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
wonderful recipe. I also added a small chopped celery stalk and a frozen chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Way too runny. You'll have to ring out the potatoes before you mix. Wasn't so foolproof if this moron messed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
These tasted ok, but the texture was nowhere near what latkes should be. They were more like regular pancakes. They were certainly faster to make than the latkes I'm used to. If I were to make them again, I would certainly give them a LOT less time in the food processor, to keep them chunky. Even so, though, I don't see a way to completely dry them before frying, so they would not be crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Scaled the recipe to 1 1/2 times, since I had 6 potatoes to use. Still used 1 onion since it was fairly large. The mixture was wetter than I would have liked, so next time I will run the potato, onion & salt through the food processor, then let the mixture drip in a colander (or squeeze through cheesecloth) as per similar recipes before adding the remaining ingredients. This recipe is easier to use than ones that give you a volume measurement of the grated/minced/chopped vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Good recipe but I suggest you cut the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too salty for our taste, if I made this again, I would reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I also prefer my potatoes shredded, so I shredded them in my food processor and used 1/2 a large onion chopped in the food processor. Very tasty with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Overall good recipe. The next time I make it I will use the method of squeezing the potatoes and onions in cheesecloth to remove excess liquid. The flavor of this recipe is wonderful. The excess liquid needs to be squeezed out first, then the consistency of the batter is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This didnt turn out for me :( It was way too runny. I added more potatoes and flour but it didn't work, and my food processor was overfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Grooms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States