Foolproof Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Phenomenal recipe! My first time making latkes on my own and all my guests were raving. I don't own a food processor so I peeled and grated the potatoes and onion. I added a couple of dashes of pepper and garlic powder. The recipe made a lot, depending on how big your latkes are. I even sent someone home with the recipe. This is a holiday staple recipe for us now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was great! My family loved it. I think I needed more potatoes. My batter was too thin and I struggled a little bit. Next time I will make sure I have a thicker consistency. But even with that, it was great. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good! I didn't bother cubing the spuds since they were going to be processed. I quartered them and it worked fine. I also only used about 1 thick slice of onion, and that was enough. These turned out quite delicious with sour cream and bacon bits. Be warned, though: don't prepare this too far in advance as the potatoes will start to brown. It still tastes fine (at least to me), but it looks a little less yummy. Thanks for sharing, Basg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make. I doubled the recipe but not the onions. I like the taste of onions but I thought that 2 onions was too much. I used 1 medium size onion...about 2 inches in diameter. It was just enough flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Finally, perfect latkes! A few adjustments: I used 5 smallish russet potatoes and left the skins on, 1 egg and added black pepper to the mix. I did not squeeze the grated potatoes. The potatoes juices pooled at the bottom of the mixing bowl. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup. This recipe gave me 8 uniformed patties. Fried for approximately 4 mins. each side. Terrific with our beef polska keilbasa and saurkraut. Don't forget the homemade applesauce and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. It really is foolproof. Success on my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great and simple! The Commenter above may have used too large of an onion, or too small potatoes. I used very large potatoes and a medium red onion (I also added crumbled bacon) and I thought they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
way too much onion...... had to smother it in ketsup of all things just to get 1 down... might try again without the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The recipe was perfect. I lost my original recipe that I had for years and printed this one out. perfect. A few minor changes though. I let the potato/onion mixture sit in a colander and I push the liquid out. Than i let the potatoe water sit for 5 minutes so it becomes sediment (potato starch) and I add that to the mix as well. Also, I added more salt and definitely pepper. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These were delicious, and my kids loved them! I did follow the advice of previous posters, and I only used 1 egg. Instead of latkes, I made them the size of falafels, which allowed them to fry faster. I probably got about 20-25 from this recipe. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States