Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
i made this tonight, and it was fabulous!! I'm usually not one into anything too sweet, and i'm not really into dates either, but i made this for my bf... Anyways, i tried it, and it was great!! didnt find it too sweet at all - mind you, i took the advice of others and only used 3/4 cups of the white sugar. It didnt take away from the taste at all, or make it bland like i feared it might.... This one is a keeper!! Can't wait to serve it for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Rich & delicious with vanilla ice cream! I added 1/2 tsp of rum extract for more of a fruit cake flavor, but it would have been just as good without it. UPDATE: I make this every year in the fall and winter. I still use the exact recipe with the addition of 1/2 tsp. rum extract, but I also add 1 Tbsp. of vanilla and 1 Cup dark chocolate chips now. Yes, the chocolate chips make it more rich, but I love rich food (if you don't, why are you making this recipe?) and they feel so much more extravagant to me this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I cant really rate this recipe bcos i didnt follow it exactly. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup each and added only 1 cup of dates and 2 cups nuts.Even with the reduction in sugar and dates, it was still pretty sweet for us. BUT, this is a very tasty cake! I am not sure if it should be called a "cookie' tho :) I made this in mini loaf pans to give away for the holidays. I doubled the recipe and got 16 perfect mini loafs! Next time tho, I will reduce the sugar even more to 3/4C maybe and use the 2 cups of dates stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These are wonderful and I will make them again. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything. They make a great gift being you can wrap them indivdualy and they store great this way. Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I'm on vacation for a while and i wanted to make food for the gods for my boyfriend and his relatives, but i can't remember the exact measurements of the recipe that i use back home. Then i found this recipe similar to what i make except that i followed the advise of TDAMOCLES and removed 3 tbs of butter and since his family doesn't want too much sweet i lessen the sugar into 3/4c each then use only 2 eggs. It went out Chewy with a perfect hint of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
good maya kitchen recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanayinya

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very rich, it's like date-nut bread in the form of a brownie. I suspect this would be good with cream cheese, but I doubt I need the extra calories :) Thanks for the recipe- everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE this recipe!! It's a total hit every single time I bake these...from work to home to parties....it's always requested over and over again! My parents especially love these! I love how these smell right after baking...mmmmmmm!! Thanks for sharing such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Good FOR ALL OCCASIONS! My friends beg me to bake more each time. I would add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
BEST THING I HAVE EVER MADE!!!!!!!! This is a direct quote from my ever-picky boyfriend, and I bake a lot! It's as if a date square and a butter tart made sweet, sweet brownie-love. It is to die for!!! If this is for the gods, then I declare myself a goddess!!! Definately stick to the recipe - I tried less butter once, and it wasn't as good. I have used half spenda for the sugar, though, and it worked fine. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States