Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I originally gave this a poor review. I hadn't talked to my close friend, who I gave some to. He didn't know the background of this recipe, but he called it "heavenly". His word exactly. I lessened the butter, sugar, and brown sugar to 3/4 cups each. It took care of the oily, greasy texture while also making it not so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
X4 Made these for the lady I care for and the co-workers loved them as well. This recipe is very rich. I had to leave the house and ended up having to turn off the oven twenty minutes into baking and finished when I returned. It fell but still oh sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Heavenly dessert! Always the bestseller in a bake sale and potlucks! I would suggest adding more walnuts to balance the sweetness of the dates and sugar. I agree also on reducing the butter to 3/4 cup. But even the way it is on the recipe, it is still good. Most of the time people wont notice the oiliness over the tastiness of the cake itself! I still prefer this over brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Pinas City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
SOOO good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Superb recipe. I got lots of compliments for these Christmas giveaways. I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup and I didn't pack the brown sugar well. The sweetness came just right for my taste. However,these came out cakey rather than chewy as most food for the gods should be.Any tips on how to make these chewier? I brushed on some molasses on top after they came out from the oven and they smelled even better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
soooo good!!!!!! lessened 3 tbsps of butter and used only 3/4 c white sugar. for the brown sugar, i still put in 1 c packed but used super dark brown sugar. i read a tip that if you want it chewy, use dark brown sugar. kept an eye while it was finishing in the oven and came it out super perfect!! wished this recipe was the one i used for my xmas goodie gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not sure what I did wrong event though I followed the recipe exactly. Mine turned out dry and gritty. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
great recipe! all my friends loved it and are still asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I must have done something wrong...these turned out as one big gooey, chewy blob. However...it tasted great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made half the recipe with the nuts and half without, and used all the butter and sugar. Both versions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States