Fondue Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! It was a huge hit at the holiday party I brought it to. However, I think 2 lbs. of cheese is WAY too much. I used one pound this time making it, but I think I could even go with 1/2-3/4 lb. next time. It was not too hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Wonderful flavor, but slightly bland. Next time, I will place slices of ham on top of the cheese before rolling. Also, be sure you place a cookie sheet under the cake pan, as the cheese oozed out of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This bread is delicious. I used 1 lb of muenster and that was plenty for my cheese-loving family. Leftover slices were heat in the microwave for 30s to make yummy and melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was absolutely fantastic! Perfect for those holiday buffets! I've taken it to two christmas parties now and it's been a hit both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
What an incredible tasting dish. We absolutely loved it! This recipe was very east to make and makes a huge loaf and will feed plenty of people. We served it with marinara sauce as a dip. What a great idea serving this for holiday parties. We will definetly make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have been making this bread for years, and I love it. It is a hit at pot lucks, too. 1) I think it should be credited, it is from the Good Housekeeping Cookbook, mine was published in 1980. 2) I use butter rather than margarine 3) Heat the milk and butter to 120-130 degrees. "Very warm" is not descriptive enough. An electronic temperature probe is excellent, it alarms when the temperature is reached so I don't have to stand there and watch it. 4) I too have tried 2 pounds of cheese and found it too much. I use 1 pound. 5) My recipe gives the oven temp as 375 degrees for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The BEST! Rarely any left over, but if there is it reheats so easily. Wonderful with tossed or fruit salad or served as appetizer. I like to use 2 different cheeses or use up different pieces of whatever cheese is in the refrigerator. Always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
We did not care for this recipe. My kids love "stuffed crust" pizza and I was hoping for something similar but did not achieve it. It was very "doughy" tasting and I had a hard time getting the cheese to stay on the dough while rolling (I only used 1lb. cheese/which may be why it was more dough than cheese, but I cannot imagine having to fit 2lbs. of shredded cheese inside the dough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
All of you should thank Lisa for this recipe. I also use it for holiday potlucks or parties, otherwise, I would just consume the entire thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicioso! I made this with half the amount of cheese and it was still wonderfully cheesy. I also added some hot pepper flakes to the cheese/egg mixture for some added flavor!...if you like spice, this is a delicious addition. I also made this recipe a second time with shredded mozzarella cheese with added garlic and italian herbs...so good with italian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States