Fondue Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Amazing!!! I added the full two pounds of cheese, (4 cups) along with some sliced ham. To get it all in there I made it 24x8" or so. Yummmm! I only used half a stick of butter, and I added some italian seasoning, garlic salt, black pepper and a bit of kosher salt to the top before baking, and it turned out perfectly. The bread was flavorful and the cheese was to die for. I will be making this over and over again and changing it up each time. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have been making this bread for years, and I love it. It is a hit at pot lucks, too. 1) I think it should be credited, it is from the Good Housekeeping Cookbook, mine was published in 1980. 2) I use butter rather than margarine 3) Heat the milk and butter to 120-130 degrees. "Very warm" is not descriptive enough. An electronic temperature probe is excellent, it alarms when the temperature is reached so I don't have to stand there and watch it. 4) I too have tried 2 pounds of cheese and found it too much. I use 1 pound. 5) My recipe gives the oven temp as 375 degrees for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
One pound of cheese is perfect. Bread is very pretty and well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I prepared this dough at home, and then brought it with me to bake on our sailboat while we were racing one afternoon. The smell coming out of the cabin was wonderful for everybody on the boat, and we ate the bread fresh and warm out of the oven. It was wonderful. Of course, food always tastes better outdoors after exercise, but I think it would taste just as good indoors. It made a beautiful loaf--looked impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this as a sourdough bread. I did 3 cups of flour, 1 cup sourdough starter, 1/2 cup of milk, and a little over a pound of mozzarella. It turned out great! This will be my go to recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful bread. I've always been intimidated by bread recipes, but this one was so easy to make. Everyone loved it. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicioso! I made this with half the amount of cheese and it was still wonderfully cheesy. I also added some hot pepper flakes to the cheese/egg mixture for some added flavor!...if you like spice, this is a delicious addition. I also made this recipe a second time with shredded mozzarella cheese with added garlic and italian herbs...so good with italian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Something unusual for a fondue party. Everyone loved it :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great recipe! I used less cheese (about 8 oz) as suggested by others and thought it could use more. I didn't have almonds, so we went with out and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
very yummy, I added sliced of ham in the middle! Everyone loved it, and ther's never any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States