Fondant Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The first time i made i did exactly what the recipe said. The next time i used Rosemary (which i prefer) instead of thyme. Tonight I toned down the salt and used some garlic salt instead, Ohh it was soooo good. I defiantly recommend these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Had to substitute basil for thyme in this outstanding recipe. The contrasting textures had my friends "Mmmmmmm"-ing throughout dinner. This is a new staple in my dinner party recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great potato, I do them sliced half inch thick, no oil. they cook quicker, and no oven needed. I start them off in butter medium heat careful not to burn the butter, once browned on the bottom I flip them over and ad chicken stock, very slowly, or it can flare up, finish cooking till the other side is browned. quick, easy , yum I been cooking these for 3 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Ha Cha Cha! These are great! The best potatoes I have made. Creamy with the flavor of the stock, amazing. I did not have russet potatoes so I used red potatoes making sure of the size for correct baking. I used olive oil and 1Tsp. dried thyme. Great flavor, I would love to try them with rosemary too. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
These are so fancy and so good I like garlic and bacon bits in the butter for cooking them in then pouring over them when done baking. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Oh my I tried these potatoes last week for a dinner with family and they were fabulous!I did not have either fresh rosemary or thyme so I used chives from the garden and used some thyme in the jar for seasoning. They were so good and the presentation was wonderful. Future staple at dinner parties for me--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Wow!! I made these tonight and the family went crazy over them.. even my son who hates potatoes loved them... used rosemary instead of thyme since we were having steak and the butter sauce over the steak was even great!! Thanks for a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were unique as well as great. The potatoes I had on hand were not the largest and therefore made for smaller than 2" cylinder a so I just adjusted my cooking time down a little and tested at 25 minutes and they were perfect. An iron skillet is indeed the best way to cook these. One more thing, they do retain their heat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outlaw040
Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
these came out perfect, just like the chef john prime rib roast. will make again and again. just a side note: peel potatoes and then slice them. i now have some unpeeled 'stumps' in the freezer because i didn't want to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I must say, try to watch the video before making these. It makes the instructions so much easier. I read some reviews before attempting to make these. I combined spice suggestions and used thyme, rosemary & tarragon (I only had dried spices available, but am sure that using fresh would throw this over the top). The texture of the potatoes was crispy, creamy & yummy. I didn't think these were too time consuming, considering the professional result. Served as a side dish to BBQ NY Strip (also on this site). Can't wait to make these again with fresh herbs!! Thanks Chef, for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States