Fondant Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great potato, I do them sliced half inch thick, no oil. they cook quicker, and no oven needed. I start them off in butter medium heat careful not to burn the butter, once browned on the bottom I flip them over and ad chicken stock, very slowly, or it can flare up, finish cooking till the other side is browned. quick, easy , yum I been cooking these for 3 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Was looking for a new twist on potatoes. This recipe is wonderful, I went right by the directions and it was perfect! Made a little ahead of dinner and kept warm and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Solid recipe. The texture is very agreeable, but it's quite fiddly to get there, and uses an uncomfortable amount of butter/ oil/ things. I reckon the number of stars it gets would entirely matter on how wonderful the chicken stock was to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I must say, try to watch the video before making these. It makes the instructions so much easier. I read some reviews before attempting to make these. I combined spice suggestions and used thyme, rosemary & tarragon (I only had dried spices available, but am sure that using fresh would throw this over the top). The texture of the potatoes was crispy, creamy & yummy. I didn't think these were too time consuming, considering the professional result. Served as a side dish to BBQ NY Strip (also on this site). Can't wait to make these again with fresh herbs!! Thanks Chef, for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Oh my I tried these potatoes last week for a dinner with family and they were fabulous!I did not have either fresh rosemary or thyme so I used chives from the garden and used some thyme in the jar for seasoning. They were so good and the presentation was wonderful. Future staple at dinner parties for me--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These were scrumptious!!!!! I did use rosemary, instead of thyme, tho'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it tonight. It's a "please do this again mom, soon"! Used rosemary instead of thyme and it was a hit with the family. They are asking me to make it every time instead of baked potatoes. Mahalo for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
looks intimidating but is fairly simple when you follow the steps. will be making this instead of baked potatoes in the future, and will tinker with the seasonings in the stock to see how it colors the flavor (i love tarragon, so that might be my first mod to the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterchi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made these on a rainy day when I was a little bored because they sounded tasty and time consuming, and they were definately both! We enjoyed them, but too fussy for everyday rotation. Impressive looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States