Fondant Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I chose these for a dinner I was making for a dear friend. I wanted to impress! These potatoes do require some babysitting, but they were delicious, beautiful, and special. I was very glad I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I think I have made at least a ton of roasted potatoes in my life. These were good but not any better texturally than the other much simpler preparations I've made. On the other hand- the browned butter with fresh thyme and chicken stock sauce was exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Really easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Oh my, everyone should try this. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made these potatoes exactly as directed. Loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious but more work than I'm willing to put forth. So if anyone wants to come over and make them for me it's totally a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These look great, if you want a minimalist plate! I will use more salt and a bit more butter next time. I will also sprinkle extra chopped thyme over them. They really need a gravy or demi glace served with them, but I ran out of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love all of Chef John's recipes, and fondant potatoes is no exception! While a bit decadent in terms of fat content, these potatoes make a unique and luxurious side dish for a special meal. I served them alongside grilled king salmon for Christmas dinner, and it was a surprisingly great combination. I followed the recipe to the letter, and the one thing I will say is that mine needed closer to an hour in the oven (and I used about a cup of chicken stock total) for the insides to be cooked through and nice and creamy. I ended up having to stick them back in after removing them at 40 minutes, when my daughter tasted one and commented that it wasn't done yet. So be careful to make sure they are cooked through before serving them. I will say that the presentation on the platter with the flourish of thyme sprigs was quite striking! Great recipe, and fun to try to something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Saunders

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is one of the best potato recipes I have ever used & leaves room for a lot of experimental flavors. Always nice to have people walk away wondering how many years u went to culinary school. Very elegant & impressive. As always my hats off to you chef John. thanks for all the wonderful recipes & ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States