Foil Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What a waste of time. My medium-large spuds took well over 90 minutes to soften, and even then there were a couple of hard spots near the skin. The skin is my favorite part of baked taters, but they turned out soggy, wrinkly and inedible. I'll stick with my usual method of nuking the potatoes for 6 minutes, then finishing them off in the oven at about 450 for 30 mins. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Potatoes turned out perfect! Very Easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
They cook quicker than without the foil. Otherwise it tastes about the same way that Alton Brown taught. Poke Holes with Fork, drizzle with oil, cover in salt, bake. Very Good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My mother-in-law saves the foil wrappers from her butter in the freezer. There is usually just enought butter left on them to give potatoes a crispy skin. You can save on fat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
very good twist on just a plain baked potato. I did like others had suggested & used olive oil and added some whole garlic cloves. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mortons Gap, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was good! I made a few of my own changes though...First insteadof just cutting the potato in half I chunked it and placed the chunks on the aluminum foil. I dabbed butter substitute on each chunk and then sprinkled with garlic powder. I also added onion for some flavor. Next time I'll figure out some other spices to add...but otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I made this recipe as is, and enjoyed it thoroughly. I felt that rather than garlic powder, fresh garlic would have made this so much better, given the 40 minute cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These taters were a hit thanks. Baked them for over an hour as they were kind of big and I am so glad I put a tray on the shelf below to catch the butter drips. Easy to make, just throw them in the oven while you get on with preparing the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I can't believe how something as easy as cutting the potatoes in half changes the flavour of them! I made them tonight just as the recipe is online and they were well loved by my entire family. (I have to make more next time!) The best thing about this recipe is that it can be altered to individual tastes and it will inevitably taste wonderful! I am thinking of trying a little dill next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These potatoes were very tasty but next time I will use olive oil instead of butter as suggested in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States