Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
For those of us who don't bake bread, I was very disappointed in this recipe. There is a similar one on this site that explains to proof the yeast and when it comes to mixing all together, you add water until the right consistency. The difference in the 2 is night and day! The first doesn't rise and comes out like a thin, chewy, crackery type of bread. The second doubles in volume and is light and fluffy, just like what I've had at Macaroni Grill before. I'm not being critical, but please take into account not everyone knows how bread is made, just by putting the ingredients here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very good! I followed Baricat's advice, used milk instead of water. I didn't proof the yeast but I mixed it in with sugar/milk before I added all the other ingredients together. I forgot to warm up the milk I dunno if that made a difference. The dough didn't rise very much but the finished product was very good! I made a breakfast panini out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really really good!!!! It really is as good as all the reviews say. I made it pretty much as the recipe reads, except that I used milk in place of the water (warmed slightly in the microwave first). I found it was a little too sticky, so I added a little bit more flour to get it to be a smooth dough, but I might not have measured the flour quite exactly the first time. (no one else mentions this as a problem) I let it rise a little longer than 20 minutes, but my kitchen was cool. There is no need to proof the yeast. works fine without doing this. I also let it rise a 2nd time after placing it on the pan. This is just standard yeast dough practice. I will definitely make it again! Next time I will probably use a little less dried herbs, just because my husband thought it was a little strong. I also might try cooking it in a cast iron skillet preheated with a little oil in the pan. If anyone likes the cheese dippers from Mazzios in Oklahoma we think cooking it in cast iron would make it taste almost exactly like them. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Bread was good, Dawson went back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've made this twice and the first time it was the best bread I've ever made. The 2nd time was not as successful maybe I had a bad batch of yeast or something. Overall though it is really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiatta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I am no baker but I made this yesterday with double recipe and it's all gone! OK I do have 5 kids. As a couple of them are quite fussy, can I add cheese to my dough to make a cheesy bread or will that just mess up the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The eaters here thought that it was store bought. So, yes it's a winner here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was such an easy bread! I made this bread with my kids and it was such a hit. I used cheddar instead of mozzarella since that is all that I had on hand but it still turned out delicious. I'm really glad that someone posted instructions on proofing yeast because I'm not a baker so I would have bombed the bread if I hadn't have read that review. I can't wait to try variations of this bread. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used one whole fresh garlic which is alot of cloves and minced it in my food processor, added oil and seasonings. Used whole wheat flour. Proofed yeast as reviewers suggested. Bread turned out great,sort of like the flat breads used with hummus. I salted mine out of the oven and even sprinkled some red pepper. It's the cajun in me. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Photo by Tamzen
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Made this tonight on my pizza stone and it was so fast to make and absolutely perfect and delicious. Will definitely make again, and muck around with toppings a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States