Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
LOVE THIS!!! I used this to make a friend's birthday cake and it was a HUGE success. She loves oreos and it was the perfect compliment to the Oreo cookies that decorated the cake. This is a keeper. The only thing I wish was in the recipe was a note about, YES, you add the hot, bubbly sugar to the eggs. I read multiple reviews to try and figure it out with no luck. I just crossed my fingers and it worked. And, yes, the sugar needs to boil for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love it! So easy and simple to make. taste like marshmallows, great on chocolate cake. I was getting tired of using butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
love this frosting. Its not stiff, and is very marshmallowy. I would not put it on a cake that was not going to be eaten within a couple of days because it gets very sticky. We made a five layer rainbow cake and it was just perfect. My three year old and my MIL both liked it equally well. Definitely a keeper. I I like it more than the powdered sugar butter alternatives but I would have a hard time decorating with it. Would be lovely for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe saved me when I discovered at the last minute that my mixer beaters hadn't survived a move. Buttercream was therefore out, but hand-beaten egg whites were perfectly fine for this recipe. It'll take longer, so make the sugar syrup after the whites are done - stir sugar and water together (per another review, I left out the cream of tartar and instead put a pinch of salt in the whites before beating), then heat without stirring until a candy thermometer reads around 235F. Pour slowly (against the side of the bowl) into whites while stirring. Continue to beat until desired consistency is obtained. Marshmallowy, delicious, and still soft and good a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
lovely and quite easy to make, followed instructions and no problems with the icing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Lovely taste and texture. Not too sweet. I made this with a recipe on this site called Apple White Cake. The kids could taste the egg a little, but weren't too concerned about it, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
after having a disaster with the whipped cream cheese frositng on this site I found this recipe and I am beyond pleased with it. Its simple to make and with ingredients on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I followed every thing it saod and i still ended up with liquid it never turned white or gor thinker like icing. Can some one tell me what i might have did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Truly a light and fluffy recipe. If I could give two tips to help anyone else. First, it says to cook over medium high heat until bubbly. I really found that you almost need to go about thirty seconds past the bubbly. The sugar mixture turns clear and you should be able to see down to the bottom of your pot. Second, at the end it says to whip for 7-10 minutes. This is important and if you don't whip long enough you will not have a smooth frosting that holds up. You may even need to go a little longer than the ten minutes. Overall, this is a fantastic, simple recipe that I will use over and over again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is truly great. It tastes kind of marshmallow-y, and is extremely light and fluffy. I don't even make any changes to it, which is really rare for me! The only drawback (to any fluffy white or 7-minute frosting) is that it does not last long- it loses its shape- in like a day or two. So it's best for gatherings when you know it'll get eaten fast. Beating it really good makes it hold shape a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States