Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
after having a disaster with the whipped cream cheese frositng on this site I found this recipe and I am beyond pleased with it. Its simple to make and with ingredients on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I followed every thing it saod and i still ended up with liquid it never turned white or gor thinker like icing. Can some one tell me what i might have did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Truly a light and fluffy recipe. If I could give two tips to help anyone else. First, it says to cook over medium high heat until bubbly. I really found that you almost need to go about thirty seconds past the bubbly. The sugar mixture turns clear and you should be able to see down to the bottom of your pot. Second, at the end it says to whip for 7-10 minutes. This is important and if you don't whip long enough you will not have a smooth frosting that holds up. You may even need to go a little longer than the ten minutes. Overall, this is a fantastic, simple recipe that I will use over and over again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is truly great. It tastes kind of marshmallow-y, and is extremely light and fluffy. I don't even make any changes to it, which is really rare for me! The only drawback (to any fluffy white or 7-minute frosting) is that it does not last long- it loses its shape- in like a day or two. So it's best for gatherings when you know it'll get eaten fast. Beating it really good makes it hold shape a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
A reviewer commented that this frosting tastes LIKE marshmallows. That's because, it's only one ingredient away from BEING marshmallows. To make marshmallows from this recipe, do this: Place egg whites in mixer bowl and begin mixing on lowest speed. Sprinkle two packets (1/4 oz each) unflavored, unsweetened, plain gelatin into the egg whites, allow the egg whites and gelatin to continue mixing while you're cooking the syrup. Follow the remainder of the recipe as is. To make marshmallow creme, use 1 packet of gelatin instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved it, it came out perfect and stayed perfect. Texture sooo smooth and super white and shiny, so pretty! And delicious of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great Frosting! I added cream cheese at the end and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is my "go-to" frosting recipe. When in doubt, I use this and add a different flavor extract and/or color. Friends always request that I make cupcake and to be sure to use that "fluffy frosting".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awesome Frosting!! It was so easy to make. I thought it would be a PITA, but it so wasn't. I didn't have any issues. I added two dashes of salt and a bit of almond extract as well. I can't believe how these ingredients can make so much frosting. I frosted a 9x13 cake about 1/2 thick with frosting (or maybe more) and still had about two cups left over. I tried to make meringues like someone else did, but I've never made them before. The frosting wasn't too sweet, just perfect. Even the next day in a not air tight container, it was still light and fluffy. I beat the heck out of the egg whites first with my kitchenaid mixer on high. then I beat the heck out of the frosting while adding the sugar mixture. I am not experienced with whipping egg whites, never made this before. i think maybe the people who had problems didn't beat the egg whites long enough before adding the sugar/water mixture, and maybe they didn't boil the sugar/water long enough. Other similar recipes have indicated the sugar/water needs to be at soft ball stage. not sure what that means, but I let it boil for a while the egg whites were whipping. I didn't pour it very slow, nor very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
the kids loved this with black magic cake. Thanks, Vickie, for this great great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States