Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Standard recipe for Italian meringue aka marshmallow frosting. The sugar-water mixture should be at soft ball stage or just below before you add it to the egg whites. You don't need cream of tartar unless you're planning to frost your creations days ahead of time (cream of tartar increases stability).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. I was looking for a quick and easy frosting recipe and I sure found it! It's the perfect consistency and you can color it any color you want with just a little food coloring. It had a wonderful flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Added a little almond extract with the vanilla and followed the directions. Worked wonderfully! Have a delicious bright white frosting for my diet soda cake. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Honor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I was in a hurry to find a simple icing recipe since someone ate all the icing I had purchased for my cake. This one was simple and I had all but the cream of tartar. I saw the review by Miss Niecy and used her salt method and it turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Tastes like marshmallow fluff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
The flavor is definitely more muted if you love love love the store bought ultra sweet. The word marshmallow definitely defines this taste and flavor. Like another user said not sure if the kids will love it (probably b/c they are used to store bought ultra sweet) but if I can ween them onto this flavor/recipe I would be happy. My rating is we'll see at lunch tomorrow! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
So impressed with this recipe! I will never buy a container of frosting again. Now that I've tried this, they all taste artificial and grainy. This recipe gave me plenty of perfectly sweet, marshmallow creme-like frosting. It was too much to cover a 9x13 cake - definitely better suited for a layer cake, so I'd recommend cutting it in half for the pan I used. It looked lovely on the cake - bright white, fluffy and glossy. I will be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Schmitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Unfortunately, I'm not able to hav any dairy in my diet since my breastfed son is sensitive to casein. I had been searching high & low for a good frosting that had no dairy (milk, butter etc). This frosting was PERFECT. I have NEVER loved a frosting like this 1!! So simple, so quick & the texture is devine. Can't wait to start adding extracts to it! I never have cream of tartar on hand so I do an equal substitute of lemon juice & its excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeceeTorres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe has worked great for me on several occasions except for one. That one time I used egg whites from a carton and all I got was a runny mess. USE FRESH EGG WHITES at room temp for best results and make sure your mixing bowl is clean and dry. Any oils will prevent egg whites from fluffing up. Other tips that may help are making sure you don't add the syrup too quickly, a thin steady stream works well. It does taste like the old fashioned seven minute frosting. like a fluffy meringue/marshmallow taste, so that gives you an idea of it's taste. I like using it on dense bittersweet chocolate cake for a good contrast. It takes color very well. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States