Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a very good, light frosting. It's not too sweet, yet sweet enough!! Very impressed with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
If you could give a 1/2 star, I would say 4.5. Made exactly as printed. Found the frosting to be a little "soft" - but to be completely fair, it was a rainy day - not the best weather to make this type of icing. Also found it slightly bland...so would either up the vanilla slightly, or do as another suggested and a touch of almond extract. (Of course, this also means that it is a great base for any flavoring you may want to add!) This is a pretty, absolutely stark white frosting. It swirls and mounds beautifully, and if you like sprinkles, no worry about them staying put! I did not find it of a consistency to successfully pipe...and if you added the ingredients to do so, the flavor and texture would change, so be cautious. It is not as sweet as most frostings, and has much less sugar and fat than buttercream. My husband loves it when I use it to frost cupcakes...and then let them sit out uncovered. The frosting then turns into a hard shelled meringue! This is not as easy to make as butter cream, but it is a great change, especially on a rich chocolate cake! Just be patient, be sure to use a timer or thermometer for the sugar syrup, and that your bowls & beaters are truly grease free. This is one of those recipes where attention to detail matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Exactly like mine except I add 8 quartered marshmallows or 1 cup miniature when syrup comes to soft ball stage. The rest is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made exactly to recipe and although it was tasty and smooth, it wasn't stiff enough for what I needed for my layered cake. This would be a nice recipe for cupcakes or sheet cakes...IMO! Loved the flavor and glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It's very sweet! Does taste like melted marshmallows. It was super easy to make and looks great. I would definitely make again but I might cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe was perfect. It certainly is a workout to whip for 15-20 minutes total but WORTH IT! You just have to WHIP it not just plain mix it. So delicious, fluffy, shiny and white. At first it's off-white but it comes out pure in the end. It is very lightweight. It takes a bit like marshmallows. Maybe it needs more vanilla? Also it bulks up--your ingredients seem to triple in volume at least, so this recipe goes a long way. This is my first time making icing ever. Also it blends easily with food coloring and pipes easy onto cookies and cakes. I've made whole rainbows of artwork already and I have a ton of icing left so I'm about to bake a cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor White
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was an amazing frosting! It was light and fluffy and tasted like marshmallows or divinity. I tried it the first time with powdered sugar and it never whipped, but once I used the correct sugar it came out perfect. It looks really nice when frosted because it is smooth and has a subtle shine. Over all I really, really liked this recipe and will definitively we using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
tried this recipe and it looked wonderful on my chocolate cake! this is a must try frosting! and i agree with others, it holds the shape very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I had already used canned white frosting in between layers of a three layer 9 inch round cake and planned on using some canned strawberry frosting for a pink cake. I changed my mind immediately after tasting it...yuck!!! So, not enough butter for buttercream led me to this. I followed this recipe with the addition of a bit of lemon to the sugar syrup. Boiled for nearly 7 minutes. Added a touch of almond and a few drops of coloring. It did take a while to reform the stiff peaks after adding the syrup. But they did peak in my stainless steel bowl and Kitchen Aid mixer...VERY well (probably after 7 minutes; but I went ahead and continued for 10 minutes). The frosting was very stiff and so pretty. Easy to spread, but I wouldn't wait long) I am not a talented cake decorator, but I could make this frosting smooth on the top (well...smooth enough for my purposes...not wedding cake smooth) Made enough for the outside and would have probably been enough for in between the layers as well. Lovely little cake. Simple to make. Mine had a tiny bit of tartness (b/c of the lemon I suppose)and was light and not-so-sweet. I covered and put it in the fridge for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States