Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved it for the icing between cake layers. Tried to pipe it and would not hold shape at all, but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I was making a coconut cake for Easter and I went back and forth between a butter cream and a fluffy white. I found several recipes for fluffy white and one actually called for 1 1/2 Cups of sugar!!! This has 1 Cup and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I love this frosting and it's the only frosting my husband will eat. My tip to those having problems is to add the sugar syrup slowly and be sure you have a mixer that can do a good job whipping. I whip my syrup right into the unbeaten egg whites. Today for Easter I added blue and red food coloring gently swirling with a skewer leaving the colors swirled then frosted cupcakes. We called them tie-dyed cupcakes they were fun and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a very good, light frosting. It's not too sweet, yet sweet enough!! Very impressed with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
If you could give a 1/2 star, I would say 4.5. Made exactly as printed. Found the frosting to be a little "soft" - but to be completely fair, it was a rainy day - not the best weather to make this type of icing. Also found it slightly bland...so would either up the vanilla slightly, or do as another suggested and a touch of almond extract. (Of course, this also means that it is a great base for any flavoring you may want to add!) This is a pretty, absolutely stark white frosting. It swirls and mounds beautifully, and if you like sprinkles, no worry about them staying put! I did not find it of a consistency to successfully pipe...and if you added the ingredients to do so, the flavor and texture would change, so be cautious. It is not as sweet as most frostings, and has much less sugar and fat than buttercream. My husband loves it when I use it to frost cupcakes...and then let them sit out uncovered. The frosting then turns into a hard shelled meringue! This is not as easy to make as butter cream, but it is a great change, especially on a rich chocolate cake! Just be patient, be sure to use a timer or thermometer for the sugar syrup, and that your bowls & beaters are truly grease free. This is one of those recipes where attention to detail matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made exactly to recipe and although it was tasty and smooth, it wasn't stiff enough for what I needed for my layered cake. This would be a nice recipe for cupcakes or sheet cakes...IMO! Loved the flavor and glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It's very sweet! Does taste like melted marshmallows. It was super easy to make and looks great. I would definitely make again but I might cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe was perfect. It certainly is a workout to whip for 15-20 minutes total but WORTH IT! You just have to WHIP it not just plain mix it. So delicious, fluffy, shiny and white. At first it's off-white but it comes out pure in the end. It is very lightweight. It takes a bit like marshmallows. Maybe it needs more vanilla? Also it bulks up--your ingredients seem to triple in volume at least, so this recipe goes a long way. This is my first time making icing ever. Also it blends easily with food coloring and pipes easy onto cookies and cakes. I've made whole rainbows of artwork already and I have a ton of icing left so I'm about to bake a cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor White
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was an amazing frosting! It was light and fluffy and tasted like marshmallows or divinity. I tried it the first time with powdered sugar and it never whipped, but once I used the correct sugar it came out perfect. It looks really nice when frosted because it is smooth and has a subtle shine. Over all I really, really liked this recipe and will definitively we using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States