Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
The flavor is definitely more muted if you love love love the store bought ultra sweet. The word marshmallow definitely defines this taste and flavor. Like another user said not sure if the kids will love it (probably b/c they are used to store bought ultra sweet) but if I can ween them onto this flavor/recipe I would be happy. My rating is we'll see at lunch tomorrow! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
So impressed with this recipe! I will never buy a container of frosting again. Now that I've tried this, they all taste artificial and grainy. This recipe gave me plenty of perfectly sweet, marshmallow creme-like frosting. It was too much to cover a 9x13 cake - definitely better suited for a layer cake, so I'd recommend cutting it in half for the pan I used. It looked lovely on the cake - bright white, fluffy and glossy. I will be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Unfortunately, I'm not able to hav any dairy in my diet since my breastfed son is sensitive to casein. I had been searching high & low for a good frosting that had no dairy (milk, butter etc). This frosting was PERFECT. I have NEVER loved a frosting like this 1!! So simple, so quick & the texture is devine. Can't wait to start adding extracts to it! I never have cream of tartar on hand so I do an equal substitute of lemon juice & its excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeceeTorres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe has worked great for me on several occasions except for one. That one time I used egg whites from a carton and all I got was a runny mess. USE FRESH EGG WHITES at room temp for best results and make sure your mixing bowl is clean and dry. Any oils will prevent egg whites from fluffing up. Other tips that may help are making sure you don't add the syrup too quickly, a thin steady stream works well. It does taste like the old fashioned seven minute frosting. like a fluffy meringue/marshmallow taste, so that gives you an idea of it's taste. I like using it on dense bittersweet chocolate cake for a good contrast. It takes color very well. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Light and fluffy! Perfect for an angel food cake and now you have a delicious low fat dessert :). Be sure to use large bowl for mixing as it really fluffs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Would have given it a 4 but my frosting never really got firm enough but was still spreadable. my kids loved it, especially my chocolate hating daughter. Finally I found a frosting all my kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe, but you must take great care that you do not get even a single drop of egg-yolk or water in the egg-whites. They're the most common reasons that the egg-white fluff won't form stiff peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farhat Lamia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very light, sweet, and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I followed the directions to the letter, but my icing turned out terrible. I didn't even try to ice anything with it as the consistency was more liquid than frosting. I'll give it another try eventually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riskie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States