Fluffy White Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tried this with powdered sugar because I used it on the top of the cake. It was a little runny, but the evaporated milk gives it a yummy richness. Will play around with the powdered sugar and milk amounts to get it just right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but twice I've followed this recipe perfectly and I can't seem to get the consistency right, after whipping for over an hr it still had the consistency of well whipped ice cream, please someone tell me ehat I could be doinf wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I got this recipe from my grandmother, but we don't use it as a filling; we use it as frosting. You have to beat this for a long time or else it will be grainy. If you use unsalted butter, throw in a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was anything but light and fluffy...more like heavy and lipidy.....My testers, and myself, felt it was very heavy and over powered the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 2 more cups of icing sugar, improved the taste, then I add cocoa powder and it was perfect for the chocolate cake I made. NICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used icing sugar, as the other reviewers said it was grainy with white sugar. Took a while to get fluffy, but once it did, it was good. (It WILL look gross for a while, during mixing). Not a strong flavour-will maybe try more vanilla, or try almond extract next time. Overall, a good filling...as long as you don't use white sugar. Next time I will add cocoa powder, to try it as chocolate filling. UPDATE: I tried to make chocolate filling, following the instructions, but adding 1/4 C. Cocoa Powder (Along with the Icing Sugar), and substituting Chocolate Milk for the Evaporated Milk....and what a waste of ingredients!!!! It would only separate...it wouldn't come together at all!!! It slid right off the beaters. Disgusting!! Will never make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This icing recipe is marginal at best. The taste of shortening was overwhelmingly strong in the final product. I attempted to rectify this by adding more sugar, but it didn't seem to make a dfference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolisouci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Capron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I didn't want to rate this seeing as a changed it too much but wanted to share my experience. Since so many complained of the shortening taste I chose increase the butter and decrease the shortening to about a 65/35 ratio as opposed to 50/50. I also used regular sugar which I turned into powder in my mini processor because I wanted the sweetness but not the grainyness. Excellent vanilla is important and I used the white kind which gave me pure white filling. I had some open evaporated milk in the fridge which I think was to old so I used vanilla flavored coffee cream because I didn't want to use milk and that's all I had. The end result was quite nice and I used it to pipe into the center of my blond two bite brownies which sank in the center while cooling. So thanks for the starter recipe. **Update:I made this again and used the evaporated milk called for and I hated it. The flavor from t he evap. milk was overpowering and it made the whole thing very smooth a creamy but not in a good way. I seemed to bring out the greasy shortening taste. I have since lowered my rating from a 4 to a 2 star recipe. Stick to sweetened cream and maybe that will work like the coffee cream did for me the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great, I was worried about the granulated sugar being grainy but after the filling sat for a day it was smooth. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Ok I realize that I am the only on that is going to put a bad reveiw on here but I did not care for this. I followed it to a t and there's way to much shortening. Just as another review said. We even added sugar- not powdered- ground that up in a food processor to not be gritty and it still was terrible. My husband and I didn't enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States