Fluffy Pudding Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Loved this and got rave reviews, even from people who are not big "cake" eaters. Used vanilla pudding and frosted a layered "poke" cake with sliced strawberries between the layers. This was a perfect frosting for those times when you don't want an overly heavy and sweet frosting. My son dipped strawberries in the extra frosting, so this made a yummy fruit dip too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made this with vanilla pudding to go with the gelatin poke cake from this site. Not too heavy or sweet, just light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Oh my goodness....how easy is this. I added some whipped cream cheese and it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I used to make this recipe years ago but I lost the recipe. I make cup cakes in ice cream cones and use this frosting as the swirled ice cream. Kids absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen O'Connell Leontovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This icing is delicious. You will be tempted to eat it without cake. It is also truly easy. I put it in an icing bag and piped it, for beautiful professional looking cupcakes. I wish I had thought to take a picture. They looked like the cupcakes you'd buy in a store, and it was unbelievably easy. Everyone loved them, even people who usually skip the icing. I would have liked to bump off half a point though. My beautiful swirls lost some of their intergrity, pudding certainly tastes better than crisco, but it will not hold up as well. When the cupcake were served the icing had begun to sag, just a little. (Really, less than you are picturing. I only mention it in the interest of full disclosure. What do you expect from a mix of pudding and whipped cream?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Lovely. I used sugar free cheesecake pudding and frosted a red velvet cake with it. It was the perfect amount to frost and fill a 3 layer cake with ease, and with the light, just-sweet-enough frosting there weren't big blobs of it left uneaten on my family's plates like there often is with store bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Beautiful light texture with a deeply creamy taste. It was also thick enough to easily use between layers in a layer cake. I will most certainly use this again, especially as it will be very easy to vary the flavor (by just changing the pudding) to match any kind of cake. NOTE: For a 9" layer cake (4 layers with frosting between each layer and around the entire outside of the cake), I doubled the recipe EXCEPT for the cool whip (kept that to 1 container). It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Needed a quick recipe for cake/icing for children's church since I forgot to get cupcakes. The kids loved this icing. Some of them just ate the icing and left the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKINMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this for my daughter's birthday cake, and I used white chocolate cheesecake flavored jello and added food coloring to make it pink for her. It was so easy, and so yummy! I love that you can use different pudding flavors to complement whatever you are frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
not as sweet and sugary as normal cake frosting, but really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States