Fluffy Pudding Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Best icing I have ever tasted! My husband ate the leftover icing like pudding. I used Low Fat Cool Whip, Low Fat milk, and sugar free pudding and it was so yummy without all the calories! From now on, this will be the only icing we eat. No more of the store bought stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Beautiful light texture with a deeply creamy taste. It was also thick enough to easily use between layers in a layer cake. I will most certainly use this again, especially as it will be very easy to vary the flavor (by just changing the pudding) to match any kind of cake. NOTE: For a 9" layer cake (4 layers with frosting between each layer and around the entire outside of the cake), I doubled the recipe EXCEPT for the cool whip (kept that to 1 container). It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was great and easy! I really dislike overly sweet frostings, so this was perfect. I did have some problems getting it to spread well, but that might have been a timing issue. I had to make the frosting before the cake was completely cooled, so it sat in the fridge for a while before I frosted the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Wonderful when you like a cold cake, which I do, and VERY EASY. Tastes better than canned for sure. Must keep in Refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Loved this and got rave reviews, even from people who are not big "cake" eaters. Used vanilla pudding and frosted a layered "poke" cake with sliced strawberries between the layers. This was a perfect frosting for those times when you don't want an overly heavy and sweet frosting. My son dipped strawberries in the extra frosting, so this made a yummy fruit dip too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is a wonderful frosting recipe, I used it with a 2 layer chocolate dirt worm cake and it help the crushed oreos and gummy worms fine. After I frosted and decorated the cake I kept it in the fridge until close to party time and it was perfect. I will definitely use it again, it's a nice light change from buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
this was NOT the texture of frosting AT ALL. It was tasty, and I kind of dumped some on top of our cake, but it's not frosting. I would be a really good filling for a layer cake, but stick with real icing or frosting for the top of the cake. I don't know why I thought these ingredients would make up a frosting texture, so it's kind of my own fault!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this for my daughter's birthday cake, and I used white chocolate cheesecake flavored jello and added food coloring to make it pink for her. It was so easy, and so yummy! I love that you can use different pudding flavors to complement whatever you are frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Lovely. I used sugar free cheesecake pudding and frosted a red velvet cake with it. It was the perfect amount to frost and fill a 3 layer cake with ease, and with the light, just-sweet-enough frosting there weren't big blobs of it left uneaten on my family's plates like there often is with store bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This just didn't really work out. The flavor was decent but the texture was off. It was gritty and didn't set up well enough to really frost the cupcakes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States