Fluffy Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent!!! These definitely come out fluffy!!! I used melted butter for the shortening and accidently doubled the sugar. I doubled the recipe and it fed four, not eight like it should have. Since I only had four to feed, it was okay. I had hoped for leftovers but there were none. This recipe is very quick to throw together. Unlike other reviewers, I did not see the need to sift the flour. I did use a whisk to stir the flour mixture and I also used the whisk to stir when I added the liquid ingredients. The batter comes out very thick and is a little difficult to spread. I debated adding more milk, but decided to leave it as is. I was glad I did. The pancakes came out very light and fluffy. I would suggest cooking these at a medium low heat. If you cook them at too high of a heat, they will get very brown on the outside, but the inside will not be done. Slower cooking will yield great results!!!! Definitely a keeper recipe!!! UPDATE: I have continued to make these wonderful pancakes but have been bothered by the amount of shortening. I decided to use 1/4 cup butter and then increased the low-fat milk by 1/4 cup. They still came out wonderful. I have tried thinning the batter, but find the pancakes do not come out as fluffy. They also taste great with blueberries. As mentioned above, cooking these slowly at a lower heat produces the best results. I find it best to cook just one pancake in the first batch. Once the pancake has browned well, you know your griddle is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I don't understand how people can mess up this recipe and claim they followed ingredients and instructions accurately. These are simple ingredients and do not vary from many other pancake recipes out there! Sometimes I think people like to complain JUST to complain. Anyway, my review of this recipe is that the pancakes were excellent! They fluffed up after I turned them, browned nicely in my griddle, and my daughter loved them. Great, easy recipe that (most) people can follow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe has been a staple in our family. The only thing I change though is that I sift the flour and I add one more egg. You need to seperate the eggs. Yolk can get combined with all the other ingredients. After all the ingredients are mixed. Whip the whites of the eggs until they foam up and fold that into the mix a little at a time. You will have the best pancakes ever!!! Also pair this with the apple syrup recipe along with the crumbly recipe and throw a little wipping cream on top and you have the supreme daddy of all pancakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This recipe is good! The pancakes are very fluffy. I used vegetable oil instead of shortening and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I finally found it!! Eureka - sp? - anyway - tried so many recipes - even read about different techniques - all motivated by the fact that I knew a pancake house flap jack was only a few tweaks away - and here it is - shortening - can't believe I didn't figure it out considering I make and sell biscuits - so here's my approach: lactose intolerant so used soymilk with some lemon juice (mock buttermilk: 1cup milk:1 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar-let rest for 5-10 min.) - cut shortening into dry mix 'till coarse - not too fine - whisk egg into wet - add to dry - JUST A FEW STROKES will mix - I finally realize how crucial this is and how those lumps and seemingly unmixed portions you just can't stand not blending actually affect the tenderness (and your pancakes won't be lumpy like you think) - ok - the last - i let the batter sit on the counter (probably should have put in fridge) for about an hour - until i saw lots of little bubbles - those bubbles are the key to your incredibly fluffy pancake - when you pour your batter into the pan DON'T mix - you want as many of those little bubbles as possible - this is why letting batter sit even overnight makes such great pancakes - the air bubbles form and create super fluffy cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN30

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
SO GOOD...These are my family's favorite, loved by 3 picky teens and a 3 year old who has never liked pancakes before. These are wonderful! I made minor adjustments: as written this recipe gets 4 stars, after I did some minor "tweaking" it became a 5 star pancake recipe. I changed the shortening to margarine, increased the sugar to 2.5 tablespoons, increased the baking powder to 2.5 teaspoons, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and a dash of cinnamon. I ususally cook my cakes @ 350 on my griddle, but for these I turned it down to 300. They turned out beautiful, light, fluffy, and delicious! *Upped the baking powder to 3 t and subst. whole wheat for 1/2 of the flour without anyone noticing a difference in flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Great for making big pancakes. We used canola oil in place of the shortening, and they turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Thanks for this addition! My kids wanted hotcakes for breakfast and out of pre-mix, it was a delight to find this recipe. I followed the directions as is and think next time I'll try some suggestions from other reviewers (applesauce or canola oil). I also added about an 1/8 c. additional milk to thin the batter just a bit. ***NOTE*** Let the batter stand for about 5 minutes to activate all the ingredients. UPDATE: Since writing this review, I've made these for my kids a few more times.. here's what I've found.. One time I used Canola Oil and didn't care for the taste. Another, I left the batter thicker and added bananas (we really liked that one) and most recently I got to thinking... if this was an "old family favorite", they probably didn't "melt" the shortening, so I cut it into the dry ingredients (after I had sifted them together) and followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McLani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
very good!!! if you replace margerine with shotening it tastes a whole lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Simple and super tasty. I followed the recipe as written except I used canola oil instead of the shortening. They browned and fluffed perfectly. The recipe is the perfect size for two people (2 pancakes each). It really does go nicely with a fresh fruit topping and some whipped creme. This will definitely be replacing bisquick in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States