Fluffy Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I've been looking for a good pancake recipe for a while now... and I found it. I used melted butter in place of the shortening, but did everything else as instructed. The pancakes were nice and fluffy and they were delicious. Only feedback would be that I needed to feed four and the recipe said four, but I think 1.5 x the recipe would have been more what I needed because we were a little short. The batter is really thick so they take a while to cook, but are well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ambrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Freedom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this pancake with my mom and it came out so good!!! It was the first time i made pancakes from scratch and it wowed my whole family. 5 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Did not like the consistency of these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were so easy and great tasting! I was out of all-purpose flour, so I subbed self-rising. Because of this, I used less than a teaspoon of baking powder. I increased the sugar slightly. I used salted butter instead of shortening, so I, also, omitted the salt. After I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, the batter seemed a little thick, so a added another splash of milk. The final result was light, fluffy, and delicious pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I doubled the recipe and switched out butter for shortening and added another 1/4 cup of milk like Mary Domaz suggested. They were easy to make, cooked fast, evenly, and everyone liked them. They are very fluffy and taste great! I fed 4, but had some leftovers. It really depends on how big you make them and how much each person eats. This is my new go-to pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
These were easy to make and awesome to taste! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherisseK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I love this recipe. Doesn't require as much ingredients as other recipes and comes out great. I live outside the US so can't get the usual box pancake mixes (Aunt J) I grew up with but with this recipe I see no need for those any more. I had no shortening so like a lot of others, substituted that with butter. Also sprinkled a few (8 or so) blueberries on top of the pancake when cooking and chopped up a bunch of strawberries to eat with. Perfect way to start out the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
NO MORE BOX PANCAKES FOR MY FAMILY!!!! THESE CAME OUT SO FLUFFY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Seriously FLUFFY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
To be honest these didn't really blow me away :( I followed the instructions to the letter and the batter looked great. It made 10 palm sized pancakes. However, I could taste the baking powder (it did seem a lot for the amount of flour) and despite the large amount of baking powder, they didn't rise as much as my usual recipe. They actually tasted like a basic thick batter, nothing special (unless you like that baking powder after taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States