Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I wanted to make a special treat (fruit topped pancakes) for my youngest boy for his birthday (and his older brother as well) but I wanted to make it a little healthier than what I'd get at the resteraunt. This recipe was perfect. I used whole wheat white flour instead of unbleached, homemade organic applesauce, vegetable oil and lowfat buttermilk. These turned out fluffy and delicious. I made a low-sugar strawberry topping to put on the top of these and topped off with a small dollop of whipped cream--like the fruit pancakes that we used to get for the boys on their birthday at Sheri's. Quite a bit healthier but the kids never noticed. This made quite a few additional for me to freeze in groups of two to stick in the toaster for busy mornings when the kids still want a hot breakfast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were a big hit. My husband is a diabetic & has high blood pressure, so I appreciate that it had no salt or sugar. I used all WW Pastry Flour, halved the recipe, but worked with 2 eggs. I ground up dark brown flax seeds in my coffee grinder and added those in. I totally missed the canola, but we didn't notice. I had added a bit extra applesauce so maybe that took the place. I used more milk because WW seems to soak it up more. I was afraid that I had overbeat my whites because they didn't want to incoorporate for a while. But, the finished product was fantastic! Added walnuts for even more fiber. Great start to the day, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These turned out fluffy and very tasty. The kids (4 & 6) thought they were great too! I did add a tsp of vanilla and made sure the egg whites were well whipped. I loved a healthier alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is a great and healthy alternative to regular pancakes. My two little ones, (29 months and 13 months old), gobbled these up!! Yes, I agree that they are tasteless BUT that is the fun part about these pancakes. My 29 month old liked them with blueberry fruit spread, my 13 month old liked them plain and my husband and I liked them with honey....everyone wins! To thin them out more I just used more milk and the batter was fine. I plan on making these pancakes agin and freezing them for a really quick, delicious and nutrious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cascade, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I just love this recipe. Why should I add sugar when most likely I'll be topping them with syrup or something else that is sweet? My kids love them and I know they are getting something that is a healthier alternative to your basic pancake mix. Oh yeah, I also added ground flaxseed meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Super yummy! My kids and husband liked them. I substituted 1/4 cup oat bran for some of the white flour, used egg whites only, no yolks, and thinned with water no milk, and no oil-just applesauce. Tasted great, very filling. Will make again for sure. I have mixed up the dry ingredients into plastic bags so I only need to add wet stuff to make, much faster that way on the weekend for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Awesome pancakes. Worth getting out the beater! Way fluffy and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Absolutely heavenly! I veganized the recipe by using EnerG egg substitute (beaten stiff w/ mixer) and almond & rice milk. I also added a banana. They were extremely moist and the fluffiest vegan pancakes ever! Thank you! This will now be my "go-to recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow - these were great! We had made applesauce from our slightly withered autumn apples a couple of days ago but didn't eat very much. Dad found this recipe this morning and served them to us. Definitely something to wake up to! The opportunity to add wheat germ and use up applesauce was great. The only thing to change... Mom wanted these thinner - they're probably 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick, so Dad added some more milk. Beautiful and tasty nonetheless. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delish! I stayed as close as I could to the recipe, though I had to use some vanilla yogurt + water instead of milk (last of the milk was sour--ick!) and white whole wheat flour instead of regular. But the resulting pancakes were delightful! I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States