Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These were really tasteless pancakes even after I added vanilla for one batch and cocoa for another. They were too heavy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These turned out fluffy and very tasty. The kids (4 & 6) thought they were great too! I did add a tsp of vanilla and made sure the egg whites were well whipped. I loved a healthier alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is a great and healthy alternative to regular pancakes. My two little ones, (29 months and 13 months old), gobbled these up!! Yes, I agree that they are tasteless BUT that is the fun part about these pancakes. My 29 month old liked them with blueberry fruit spread, my 13 month old liked them plain and my husband and I liked them with honey....everyone wins! To thin them out more I just used more milk and the batter was fine. I plan on making these pancakes agin and freezing them for a really quick, delicious and nutrious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cascade, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I just love this recipe. Why should I add sugar when most likely I'll be topping them with syrup or something else that is sweet? My kids love them and I know they are getting something that is a healthier alternative to your basic pancake mix. Oh yeah, I also added ground flaxseed meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Super yummy! My kids and husband liked them. I substituted 1/4 cup oat bran for some of the white flour, used egg whites only, no yolks, and thinned with water no milk, and no oil-just applesauce. Tasted great, very filling. Will make again for sure. I have mixed up the dry ingredients into plastic bags so I only need to add wet stuff to make, much faster that way on the weekend for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Awesome pancakes. Worth getting out the beater! Way fluffy and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Absolutely heavenly! I veganized the recipe by using EnerG egg substitute (beaten stiff w/ mixer) and almond & rice milk. I also added a banana. They were extremely moist and the fluffiest vegan pancakes ever! Thank you! This will now be my "go-to recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I may have goofed the recipe, but I did not care for these pancakes. They were more doughy than fluffy and were not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
okay for homemade pancakes. Not as fluffy as i wold have liked it to be though. Maybe it was my fault, but the store mixes have 10x more bubbles than what these made. good flavor and texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday13th777

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Quite tasty but I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a chopped peeled apple for some extra chunks. Yum! After making it, we all wished we'd added a touch of salt to wake up the flavors, but we'll we making this on Saturday mornings for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States