Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made them this morning and both my 2 yr old and 7 yr old loved them - the whole batch is gone between the three of us!! I had only 2 whole eggs in the fridge and a package of liquid egg whites to account for the rest, but even with an egg yolk missing they turned out well. I also substituted cow milk with Almond Milk (unsweetened) and had to add a bit extra. Next time, I'll add a pinch of salt - these would be great with shredded apples and cinnamon, or bananas as well!. Thanks for a great breakfast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These pancakes were indeed fluffy and delicious, but I was disappointed we couldn't taste the applesauce. Maybe I'll try chunks of apples in them as another person suggested, or more applesauce as a topping. I used all whole wheat flour and they were still light and fluffy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunazen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
GREAT PANCAKES! I made the recipe as listed, just with a little salt added, and an extra 1/2 tsp baking powder (I like my pancakes REALLY fluffy!). They were delicious, and very light and fluffy! As a note, we had ours with fresh strawberries and powdered sugar on top and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I loved the texture of these pancakes, but they cried out for a little salt! After tasting one, I added salt to the rest of the batter and they tasted MUCH better. I had to add extra milk and applesauce, and I still couldn't taste any apple flavor; I guess I'm not really sure if I was supposed to, but I was a little disappointed that I couldn't. These were good pancakes, but not the best. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I liked these. I agree with another reviewer, these are more thick than fluffy. I like thick pancakes, but I'm not sure it's worth it for me to get out the mixer. I would make them again, but w/o beating the egg whites (I wonder how I should change the recipe/ratios?). They are a little bland, but with syrup it hardly matters. My 16-mo-old doesn't seem to care. I did add some cinnamon, I think it was a good touch. And in answer to somebody's question, I think the oil in the recipe is just for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow - these were great! We had made applesauce from our slightly withered autumn apples a couple of days ago but didn't eat very much. Dad found this recipe this morning and served them to us. Definitely something to wake up to! The opportunity to add wheat germ and use up applesauce was great. The only thing to change... Mom wanted these thinner - they're probably 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick, so Dad added some more milk. Beautiful and tasty nonetheless. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I was hesitant to try them , but they weren't that bad, I followed the recipe except for the wheat germ I substituted quick oats because I didn't have any .. they were fluffy also I wish somebody answer this question their is no mention for the 2Tab oil in ingredients , when to be used ..just wondering !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Nice pancakes. I halved the recipe, then got a bit stuck on the egg measurements (halving results in 1 1/2 egg yolks, 1 1/2 egg whites). However, I perservered anyway and ended up with (I think!) the correct ratio of eggs. These are heartier pancakes, and I love that I can use my jar of applesauce in something else. Bf liked them as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Quite tasty but I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a chopped peeled apple for some extra chunks. Yum! After making it, we all wished we'd added a touch of salt to wake up the flavors, but we'll we making this on Saturday mornings for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
okay for homemade pancakes. Not as fluffy as i wold have liked it to be though. Maybe it was my fault, but the store mixes have 10x more bubbles than what these made. good flavor and texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday13th777

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States