Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Super yummy! My kids and husband liked them. I substituted 1/4 cup oat bran for some of the white flour, used egg whites only, no yolks, and thinned with water no milk, and no oil-just applesauce. Tasted great, very filling. Will make again for sure. I have mixed up the dry ingredients into plastic bags so I only need to add wet stuff to make, much faster that way on the weekend for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is a great and healthy alternative to regular pancakes. My two little ones, (29 months and 13 months old), gobbled these up!! Yes, I agree that they are tasteless BUT that is the fun part about these pancakes. My 29 month old liked them with blueberry fruit spread, my 13 month old liked them plain and my husband and I liked them with honey....everyone wins! To thin them out more I just used more milk and the batter was fine. I plan on making these pancakes agin and freezing them for a really quick, delicious and nutrious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cascade, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These were really tasteless pancakes even after I added vanilla for one batch and cocoa for another. They were too heavy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Two out of my three kids loved these. I really liked these because of how nutritious they were. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for the recipe. The only thing I will change in the future is adding flavored low fat yogurt to sweeten them up and give them a more kid friendly flavor without sacrificing their nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were a big hit. My husband is a diabetic & has high blood pressure, so I appreciate that it had no salt or sugar. I used all WW Pastry Flour, halved the recipe, but worked with 2 eggs. I ground up dark brown flax seeds in my coffee grinder and added those in. I totally missed the canola, but we didn't notice. I had added a bit extra applesauce so maybe that took the place. I used more milk because WW seems to soak it up more. I was afraid that I had overbeat my whites because they didn't want to incoorporate for a while. But, the finished product was fantastic! Added walnuts for even more fiber. Great start to the day, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I wanted to make a special treat (fruit topped pancakes) for my youngest boy for his birthday (and his older brother as well) but I wanted to make it a little healthier than what I'd get at the resteraunt. This recipe was perfect. I used whole wheat white flour instead of unbleached, homemade organic applesauce, vegetable oil and lowfat buttermilk. These turned out fluffy and delicious. I made a low-sugar strawberry topping to put on the top of these and topped off with a small dollop of whipped cream--like the fruit pancakes that we used to get for the boys on their birthday at Sheri's. Quite a bit healthier but the kids never noticed. This made quite a few additional for me to freeze in groups of two to stick in the toaster for busy mornings when the kids still want a hot breakfast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delish! I stayed as close as I could to the recipe, though I had to use some vanilla yogurt + water instead of milk (last of the milk was sour--ick!) and white whole wheat flour instead of regular. But the resulting pancakes were delightful! I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I just love this recipe. Why should I add sugar when most likely I'll be topping them with syrup or something else that is sweet? My kids love them and I know they are getting something that is a healthier alternative to your basic pancake mix. Oh yeah, I also added ground flaxseed meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These turned out fluffy and very tasty. The kids (4 & 6) thought they were great too! I did add a tsp of vanilla and made sure the egg whites were well whipped. I loved a healthier alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Not a bad start but definately needs some more flavor; maybe a little salt and blueberries or even a few chocolate chips. My 3 older kids ages 10, 8 and 6 did not eat these but my 16 month old did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States