Fluffy Instant Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Do to the review I made the suggested changes (1c. flour, 3 eggs, 3/4c. water) and they came out great. I was scared as I did not want oil soaked donuts so I used a thermometer to make sure the oil was hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Used my fry daddy to get the oil hot enough to keep the donuts from absorbing so much oil. I made the recipe as is, but next time, I'll use the 3 egg, 1c flour and 3/4 water suggestion. My oldest liked these with a smathering of Nutella on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I couldn't find the right size cake mix (they must have shrunk 'em!), so I used a 15.25oz one and reduced the recipe to 3 eggs and used 1 cup of buttermilk in place of the water. I kept the flour amount the same and the consistency was perfect. I found them to be wonderfully, sweet, buttery and not too dense. They reminded me of buttermilk drop doughnuts from McKenzie's bakery in New Orleans. Making sure the oil is the right temperature is crucial to get the wonderfully golden, crispy exterior and a moist, tender middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I followed the suggestion from one of the reviewers and used one full cup of flour, three eggs and 3/4 cup of water and they came out delicious and i used a Banana supreme cake mix. They aren't as greasy as some people said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have a high tech fryer and even with the oil hot enough these "donuts" were sponges, sucking up oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Downs
Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was my first attempt. And I read a lot of recipes and the reviews. I did make the adjustments (1 cup flour, 3/4 water, and I used two egg yolks and 1 whole egg... I also added nutmeg. I used a devils food cake mix. The batter was thick and sticky. I got the oil super hot. I dint have the thermometer. And I used a cookie press to drop the dough into the oil... It worked ok... Made things uniform, but not thick enough for them to be tasty and moist... The tablespoon versions were better, but I couldn't leave them too long because it seemed like they were burning (oh I used a lot more than 3 cups of oil... ) when I pulled them out they were still raw in the center, but they kept cooking as they cooled and were ok when my husband grabbed one and popped it into his mouth before I could yell no! It's raw! The flavor was a little better on t he bigger ones... But not a strong chocolate. This was an easy lead in idea... But the recipe as is... I am not sure how successful I would've been without all the research I did prior and the trial and error with the cooking. At the end of it... Will I make this again? Yes. Because there Are many options and ways to enhance it and start to finish it was a quick process (not counting all the time for actually cooking- which is tedious dropping batter and flipping. it does move quickly- but my donuts were hole sized.) With the oil at the right temp these were a light or 'fluffy' instant cake donuts... and not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It was really easy to make. A little oilly, but not bad over all. And I added cinnamon sugar with the confectioner's dugar and it really tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
DO NOT USE THIS RECIPE the only way to make it work is to thicken the batter with flour i also added more vanilla extract and sugar because the flour takes away the flavor of the cake mix even then they still aren't to good the easiest way to make quick donuts at home is definitely using refridgerated biscuits can't go wrong with them because this is a waste of perfectly good cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I waited until a snow day to try this recipe and I read reviews first. 1/2 c. of flour, 2 eggs (I knew I could add an egg or 2 if I needed) and 3/4 c. of water was what I ended up with. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and I found that the holes flipped on their own. Keeping the oil at low medium heat allowed the holes to cook in about a minute each. I had to move fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used strawberry cake mix and used a doughnut shaped muffin pan. It turned out OK but I may add more flower to the second batch to make it more dense like a cake doughnut. I also may try a glaze instead of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States