Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
tried it this afternoon,I doubled the baking powder, used split peas powder/flour instead of millet flour, honey instead of sugar and soya milk instead of water. Took 45 mins, it's heavy but taste delicious, intend to improvise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe was awesome!! I used the gluten free all purpose flour instead of millet and rice flour. My husbanf LOVED it so much he ate 3 big pieces! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Well.....I don't like giving negative reviews, but I won't be making this again. It was extremely dry and crumbly. It also made a lot! I've made Jiffy cornbread many times (before gf) and that tiny box makes a square pan, so as I was mixing up this recipe I knew it was way more than that. I used a 9x13 pan and it filled it to at least a 2" depth. Perhaps the larger pan contributed to the dryness, but I was afraid that much batter was going to run right over my square pan. It tasted okay (not great). Fortunately, I have a cornbread salad recipe that calls for crumbled cornbread, and the leftovers (which was most of it) worked well for that, so it wasn't wasted! It obviously worked for most of the other reviewers, so it's worth a try if you're looking for gf cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Came out dry and not fluffy. I am very picky about cornbread and even non-GF versions can be dry and not fluffy. So, if this is the fluffiest I can get out of GF then I'd rather not have it. Sorry, I was really hopeful but it is just a predictable outcome with GF breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This fluffy GF cornbread tastes just as delicious as a gluten recipe and no one will know the difference. I used Bob's Red Mill GF all purpose flour just like others suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My family and I loved this cornbread. I followed the suggestions of others and used the xanthan gum. Since I wanted a little more cornmeal flavor, I used 1-3/4 cups cornmeal and 1-3/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour. It was moist, not crumbly, and had a very good flavor. Can't stop munching on it! I have missed bread since going gluten free and this really satisfies me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I found this recipe a while back when I thought that I was going to have to go gluten free. It turns out that I didn't need to, but regardless, this is now my go-to cornbread recipe! I love this cornbread!!! The only thing I didn't like was that it often turned out a little too dry and crumbly, but I finally figured out how to fix that thanks to another reviewer - add xanthan gum. I had never used it before and was a little hesitant to add too much. I used 2 1/2 t. baking powder and about 3/4 t. of xanthan gum (which I stirred into the dry ingredients) and voila! Problem solved! It was fluffy but moist and stayed together. Perfect!! Thank you for the recipe and the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I followed the advice to use GF all-purpose flour instead of rice flour and millet flour and added 1 teas xantham gum as someone suggested. I also used coarsely-ground cornmeal which we'd gotten from a grist mill and it was terrific. I poured this as a topping on a casserole and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Fantastic and so easy! my kids even loved it! made it with garbonzo flour instead of millet, it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States