Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe produced perfect, restaurant-style french toast for us. I doubled it, and used a full loaf of Texas toast (17 slices). I made it the night before, cooled on wire racks, then stored in fridge for a quick Easter morning reheat in the toaster and it was still beautiful and crispy. My only alteration was to double the amount of cinnamon and add brown sugar in equal proportion to the white sugar. I whisked the dry ingredients together before adding the milk and fried in a combination of half butter, half butter flavored crisco. This is our new keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
We made this with some raisin walnut sourdough bread. It was to die for! Excellant! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alex
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Loved it, I add more cinnamon and vanilla, also I use the new "extra thick sliced cinnamon bread with raisins" from president's choice, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helene
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Best French toast ever! I used "day old" french bread cut on the diagonal (WAY better than regular bread or Texas toast). Also, I grated cinnamon sticks for the cinnamon. Not necessary, but it smelled, looked, and tasted better. At the end I sprinkled finely ground sea salt and powdered sugar on top, with syrup. The sweet and salty combo made it pop. I used unsalted butter to cook them in, so maybe you skip that if using salted butter. This came out better than ANY restaurant I have been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I use this recipe every. Single. Time. I make french toast. I make it using hawaiin bread and i add some nutmeg to it as well and i could eat it all day. I use to not even like french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Poindexter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Very easy to make, I'd never made French toast before and my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Made this with day old crusty French bread and substituted 3/4c buttermilk and 1/4c water instead of 1c of milk. Came out delicious. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Hands down the best French toast recipe I've ever tried. I added my own little flair to it, but I've made the original recipe, too, and loved it. My alterations are as follows: I use French bread. I buy the $1 loaf at Walmart and cut it up into thick slices. It comes out to about 16 pieces. Next, I use vanilla sugar. Don't do this unless you're a fan of vanilla. You could cut back on the vanilla extract if necessary. I do not. I also use real maple syrup. It's so much better than the imitation stuff. It's expensive but worth it. Overall, this is an A++ recipe. It's easy to make; delicious; and a crowd pleaser. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is the best french toast I have ever made!!! I made the recipe as is with no alterations. Definately a keeper. I am planning on putting this on my freezer meal rotation. This recipe made 13 french toasts from regular sliced loaf bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahm802

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The only change I made is I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. This was a hit with my kids. They licked their plates and begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States