Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Saturating regular bread in a mix with this much milk led to soggy French toast. Either you need to have thick, firm, dry bread, or just do a quick dip for regular stale bread. Towards the end of my cooking, I added more egg to the mix to see if that helped, and it was much better. Also added a dash of nutmeg for the last few slices which was a good recommendation from another reviewer. Temp on a griddle should be 300-325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just did one serving of this with an eyeball measuring method. I ended up with a creamy mixture, like melted ice cream. I heated up a pad of butter in the skillet until it was bubbling and then cooked the toast in it, it was crispy, golden and delicious! Used thick sliced white bakery bread... the best french toast ive ever had! Doing this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The reason I am giving this recipe five stars is that's tasty and healthy at the same time. I've been making a french toast recipe for years that is awesome, but it is loaded in fat and calories. I recently had my galbladder out, and that has made me re-evaluate what I eat. This recipe has less than 200 calories and has 2.7 grams of fat. This means that I can have one piece of bacon, piece of fruit, and this recipe and I am still under 400 calories and feel full. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! My children have started giving me a hard time about whole grain breads. Even when I make french toast with them. Well I tried this recipe with a Quinoa and flax seed bread, and was waiting to hear the usual complaints. Not a peep out of them other then asking for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I think this recipe tasted OK, however it took a while to cook and STILL came out a little soggy. I think that the key isn't necessarily to use a THICK bread, but rather a dense one ( challah was recommended, will try that next time). overall, though, this recipe beat my previous one, and even my son, who is the pickiest eater EVER, thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe as written. Made a gluten free version as well. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Best home made French Toast I've made or had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've made it about a dozen times, and it's been great every time. I recommend honey wheat bread. If you need more servings, add an extra egg. Also, putting the cinnamon on the toast while it's on the griddle works best for making all the slices even. Otherwise, the first slice will have a lot of cinnamon, and the last will have very little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe while searching for a better French toast. I was worried about using flour, but it was amazing and so simple! My family can't stop raving about it! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect french toast! I followed the recipe almost exactly, only left out cinnamon (not a fan) & used turbinado sugar & these turned out great. I made the whole french loaf & popped 1 or 2 at a time in the toaster oven & they were delicious & perfect, slightly crispy on the outside (due to the flour maybe?) & nice & custard-y on the inside. My bf, who is waaay picky said he loved them & still talks about them. I also tried making this recipe with italian bread since the local store was sold out of french & they were not the same & the bf was not impressed. I really think the real french bread is the perfect texture for french toast, thus the name, french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunday112

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States