Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Really, really bland and flavorless. I even added extra cinnamon and vanilla.The texture was alright - the inside was custardy enough, the outside could have been crispier. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy and quick to make for someone who doesn't cook a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made this yesterday and we all loved it! Will continue to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After reading some reviews that claimed the cinnamon tends to disappear and that the flour sinks to the bottom needing the batter to be constantly whisked, I made a few procedural changes and the results were excellent. First, I sifted the flour, salt, and cinnamon into the bowl and whisked that while I slowly added the milk. I then proceeded to add each egg, whisking constantly, and after the second egg added the vanilla and finally brown sugar (which gives the batter a wonderful caramel taste) after the last egg. I used Villagio bread ( a thick white bread) and was able to stretch the batter to 9 slices. Served with organic maple syrup and fresh blueberries and sliced bananas, this was a real weekend breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Next time I think I would add more cinnamon, but good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The best. Almost exactly the same recipe I have used for years, but I have never thought of putting flour in the mix! It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Best ever says my 9year old son aldon:-) I have made this numerous times for him and his friends who sleep over and they talk about it every time I see them wondering when they can stay over again and I can make it for them:-) I love making this recipe because its simple to make and super yummy:-) I wish I could give it ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bluffton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this french toast recipe with home made challah bread. Cook several slices and figure out how much soaking in the batter is to your liking. You may want a custardy french toast (longer soak) or a drier french toast (less soak, more of a drag through and grill). I have never made French toast with flour in the mixture, but it really makes it work. Make sure you whisk each time you dip your bread. The flour and cinnamon together sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Saturating regular bread in a mix with this much milk led to soggy French toast. Either you need to have thick, firm, dry bread, or just do a quick dip for regular stale bread. Towards the end of my cooking, I added more egg to the mix to see if that helped, and it was much better. Also added a dash of nutmeg for the last few slices which was a good recommendation from another reviewer. Temp on a griddle should be 300-325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just did one serving of this with an eyeball measuring method. I ended up with a creamy mixture, like melted ice cream. I heated up a pad of butter in the skillet until it was bubbling and then cooked the toast in it, it was crispy, golden and delicious! Used thick sliced white bakery bread... the best french toast ive ever had! Doing this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States