Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was looking for a French toast recipe rather than my usual eggs, milk, cinnamon and vanilla. I stumbled upon this one and I figured I'd try it with so many great reviews! I was hesitant at first because it said to add flour! But let me tell you, this recipe is super DELICIOUS! I loved it as we'll as my husband! I will always use this recipe from now on! I used the Texas Toast from Safeway, which I love for French toast since its thick. Also read a review that thy used butter flavor crisco and I just so happen to have had a huge canister still left from a cupcake frosting recipe I tried awhile back, so I tried the butter flavored crisco in the pan and it worked perfectly! Thank you for sharing Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Turned out great. I used day old Jimmy Johns bread. Served with bacon, fruit and a fried egg. Power breakfast for busy Saturday complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This recipe makes, hands down, the absolute BEST french toast I have ever had! I added an additional 2 teaspoons strawberry extract (along with the vanilla extract the recipe calls for) and I put warm strawberry syrup on top, and it was just mouth watering. I'll be sticking to this recipe for my french toast from here on out, that's for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalee Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marisuhh
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I make it with lactose free milk and it really does taste like the French toast I get at my favorite breakfast restaurant just without the terrible stomach ache after. If you're going to make this recipe Make sure you remember to stir the batter before every new dip of bread and make sure your griddle is greased constantly. I just spray some Pam after every slice and that prevents those ugly black burns and the egg mixture sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Huge hit with the family! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I added a touch of clove, nutmeg and more cinnamon and vanilla. I used a really good sourdough bread and soaked it in between batches as it cooked to soften the bread. I was out of maple syrup, so a friend suggested honey. Yes and Yes. possibly the best french toast ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Photo by Hunneebee
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Nice. Changes: used brown sugar instead of white sugar, used a buttermilk, used Apple pie spice instead of cinnamon, double the amount. Used coconut oil for frying, used brioche thick- sliced bread. came out very nice. Made plenty to pop in toaster for breakfast tomorrow. Will def be using recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is the best french toast recipe I've found. So flavorful and not too eggy. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this at our family reunion one morning for 20! I used Hawaiian Sweet Bread, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe stated but felt it needed a bit more sugar and salt as well as cinnamon for flavor. I upped these on my second batch and it was perfect! Doubled them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States