Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Qzen
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Great texture! Wow these turned out really light, nice crumb, great rise - an easy recipe that adapts well. I was looking for an easy & healthy carrot muffin recipe as I've never been able to make a batch that didn't have sunken tops. A few reviews complained about a heavy baking soda taste and although it is perceptible, they were still yummy (maybe shifting dry ingredients together would have fixed this). I liked that the recipe calls for 2 cups of carrots - many use only one grated carrot. As with others, I made substitutions: 2 eggs and 1 tbsp flaxseed with 2 tbsp almond milk to replace third; 1 c whole wheat flour instead of white. 1/3 c oats and 2 tbsp of almond meal (roughly), 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 of oil, plus added ground ginger, nutmeg & cardamon. Baked for 22 min. Delish with or without icing, bookmarked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made these muffins for breakfast one morning, and they tasted so flavorful and moist! My family loves them, and now I make them often. I personally feel they are sweet enough without the frosting, so I just dust them with powdered sugar. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My super duper picky eating daughter actually loves something--these muffins! Thank you! The texture is great, the frosting is great and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These came out oily and bitter. They taste like I left the sugar out even though I did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Very moist and flavorful, caved in a little in the center. I added a pinch of cloves and nutmeg and used coconut oil. I think I am going to add some unsweetened coconut flakes next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rainney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made these for my husband's birthday. They turned out great, were delicious, and were very easy and not time consuming. Only glitch wa that when I reduced the servings something got lost in translation regarding the frosting, so I had to add a bit if almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is resilient! I used carrot pulp (leftover from juicing) instead of shredded carrots, half all-purpose flour and half rye flour, I added 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds, and I reduced the amount of powdered sugar in the frosting by 1/3. I also added 1 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cardamom. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niecey
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe was real good... I didn't have enough carrots on hand so I decided to use what I had which was probably a cup and then I did a pineapple upside down with this as the base... So I placed a cherry in the middle then some pieces of diced pineapples around it then I added the extra pine to the batter as well as a little of the pine juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Too baking soda tasting . I would remake with less baking soda ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States