Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is delicious exactly as written. I finely grated the carrots. The only slight change I made was to skimp on the oil (I only had 2/3 cup left and didn't open another bottle). The muffins are delicious, moist and not too heavy. The frosting is a nice touch. I held some back, colored it orange and green and piped little carrots on top to "fancy' them up. I got 15 nice sized muffins. Thanks for a recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a great recipe. I took some advice and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 cup raisins. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These muffins turned out wonderfully fluffy and the icing was fine even when I used reduced fat cream cheese. Actually, they were so fluffy that I found them to be remarkably more like cupcakes than any muffins I've ever tasted... Semantics aside, they were delicious and fully deserving of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Inabe, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I was looking for a moist muffin, and this is just what I needed. I made it with 3/4 cup of oil, but the next time I used 2/3 c. and it was better. I might try the applesauce substitute sometime...Delicious without any icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These are very good carrot muffins the first batch didn't even get icing put on and they were gone. I have a juicer and I used the pulp from carrot, apple and pear juice instead of shredded carrots. These were so moist and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I'm not much of a baker, but you can't go wrong with this. Everyone here loved it! I used applesauce in lieu of the oil like others suggested! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written, and it turned out great! The only possible difference I could see was that I put my carrots in the Cuisinart, so they were rather finely chopped, and not "grated." This recipe as written did NOT make 12 cupcakes, however, unless perhaps they were supposed to be jumbo-sized?! I could have gotten at least 24 cupcakes, but didn't have enough frosting (I used my own vanilla frosting recipe)...so I made 12 cupcakes, and put the remainder of the batter into a loaf pan. It baked longer (about 30-35 min), but was delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Heavenly! We did not make any substitutions, nor frost them as they were good just by themselves. There were no funky ingrediants, just normal household stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I followed your recipe to the letter and the muffins turned out a deflated, and a weird colour... they tasted awful, I didnt bother wasting the frosting by putting it on the muffins because no one in my family was going to eat them anyway. Sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these for my son's preschool as his Birthday treat. They went over well and they satisfied the teacher's desire for "healthier cupcakes". I made twice the frosting and had a half cup left over. I did frost them fairly heavy as they were for a Birthday treat. My batter also made 16 muffins and they were overflowing the tins. I would fill less next time and will likely get another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States