Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I really enjoyed these doughnuts as they were easy to make. It took me a little longer as I used an electric doughnut maker instead of a donut pan. I will probably use less nutmeg and more cinnamon next time. My friends and family really liked them with the glaze on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Just right for a doughnut that is baked! It has a nice flavor. I have tried the chocolate iced and the almond iced. I used less of the almond flavoring, but both turned out very tasty. Tastes so much more wholesome than the deep-fried counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These were great! very easy too. I did have to cook them in my doughnut pan for 12-14 minutes as opposed to 8-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vixen_with_velocity
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
While this doughnut didnt taste like a fried doughnut, it was still rather delightful. I followed the recipe exactly and am quite happy with how they turned out. The only thing I did different was used a mini bunt pan since I didnt have a doughnut pan. This didnt effect the out come of the doughnut what so ever. I also made some with cinnamon and sugar. I did this by greasing the mini bunts and they sprinkling them with the cinnamon and sugar mixture. After I put the batter inside, I then sprinkled the top with the cinnamon as well and they are delicious. I will make these again~ Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixen_with_velocity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I honestly don't understand why this recipe has gotten so many one-star reviews. I have made them twice now, and they barely lasted a day both times - my family just loves them! They are not Tim Hortons/Krispy Kreme donuts, but I wasn't expecting them to be either. I wanted something much lighter that I could use my donut pans for, and I think this recipe is perfect for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This recipe even worked well with my mini-doughnut pan, which a lot of other batters don't do well. My husband loves these if I add some cocoa into the mix too, they're wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah.sazaroo
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I bought an electric doughnut maker expecting it to come with a simple recipe but it didn't. After searching on here for the tastiest sounding recipe but also the least complicated i found this delicious mix which is absolutely fabulous with a chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.sazaroo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I am a pastry chef with a small bakery/cafe. I use this recipe** everyday to make these donuts. **I like to add 2T. melted butter instead of shortening, omit the cinnamon in the batter, use buttermilk instead of milk and bake them at 400' for 8 to 9 minutes. Once finished, a quick dunk in melted butter and a roll in white sugar, granulated brown sugar and cinnamon (combined of course) makes a donut my customers crave. I also bake them in mini muffin pans (same time as donuts) and they are "poppers". Try these revisions and you will never go to the chains again for donuts. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1047 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States