Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great for the mini donut maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made these doughnuts using a doughnut pan I bought on clearance and didn't know what to do with. I had used other recipes and got a "muffin" taste every time. I went with the suggestion of the pastry chef's review and omitted the cinnamon and I used buttermilk as the liquid and melted butter instead of shortening . they tasted exactly like Doughnuts. I guarantee it's the nutmeg that you'd never expect. I will try dunking in butter and sugar next time. I used powder sugar and they were delicious. I will make these for a bake sale fundraiser at my husbands office and see how they do. One tip for a mini doughnut pan is to take a piping bag or a ziplock bag with the tip cut off one edge to pipe the batter into the rings to get them even and keep from wasting and spilling lots of batter. it makes a very pretty uniform round doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I followed the directions given by Jmyslm, the pastry chef, except that I didn't omit the cinnamon. I used Penzey's Ceylon cinnamon, which is VERY mild... "I like to add 2T. melted butter instead of shortening, omit the cinnamon in the batter, use buttermilk instead of milk and bake them at 400' for 8 to 9 minutes. Once finished, a quick dunk in melted butter and a roll in white sugar, granulated brown sugar and cinnamon (combined of course) makes a donut my customers crave." I've tried lots of recipes for baked donuts, never finding one I considered to be worth the effort. This one is fantastic, although still not like a fried donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Works great! Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I just made this after I got my new donut pan. I changed the milk to sour milk by adding a tablespoon of lemon juice and milk to make 3/4 cup. It's light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These cake donuts are very tasty. I only made a couple changes based on reviews, I used buttermilk, omitted the oil and used 2T melted butter in batter. When baked, I dipped in melted butter and rolled in brown sugar, sugar and cinnamon. What I loved the best about these is that I ad all the ingredients on hand. The bonus is that the kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for posting...I had been looking for a great baked doughtnut recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Reitman Gale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aunt Shelly
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Best baked donut recipe I've found. I followed the advice of another reviewer to use melted butter instead of shortening and to use buttermilk instead of milk. For my glaze I used cream instead of water and only a drop of almond extract. I did half like this, and then added some chopped semisweet chocolate and dipped the rest. Heaven. I had to send them with my boyfriend to his work so that I wouldn't eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These turned out pretty tasty, by themselves I loved the flavor. Not as good as fried up donuts from my favorite shop, but they'll do the trick when I want to make something sweet at home. I'm not really a fan of the glaze though, personally I found it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
after making the first batch I had to check the temperature of the oven since they didnot rise very much. The stated temp in the recipe was 325 degrees for 10 minutes. After checking my other recipes for baked donuts they all used 425 degrees for 10 min. I tried this recipe at 425 degrees for 10 minutes and it worked perfectly. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk, cake flour instead of regular flour and melted butter or margerine instead of shortening. Used cinnamon and nutmeg and half white sugar and half brown sugar. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States