Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were yummy and so easy to make! Will be doing these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by TINACABINA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I took the milk out and put buttermilk instead (another reviewer had mentioned doing this), left out the cinnamon and it was great! I received a donut maker for Mother's Day and the recipe that it came with was terrible! So glad that I found this one. I dipped the tops in melted butter when they came out and then dipped them into cinnamon sugar (which is why I left cinnamon out of the actual recipe) right away. I can hardly wait til my daughter gets home from school because she'll be so surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Relatively quick and easy...love that they are baked, not fried. 3 kinds of glaze and the 5 year old has to ask..."but where are the caramel ones?" So like his dad ! Caramel glaze - next week !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Pretty good for baked donuts. :) Made in a mini cupcake pan rather than a donut pan. Makes about 30 mini cupcakes/donut holes. Added a little more powdered sugar to the frosting than what was listed. Would be good dipped in chocolate frosting too! They don't keep as well as traditional donuts though (probably because they're not covered in oil), so plan to eat them with 24-48 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I wish they were a little more fluffy and less dense but everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This makes for a pretty good doughnut. I made mine 3 ways. Chocolate glazed, powdered sugar, and cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
How adorable! I used vanilla almond milk instead of dairy and subbed the shortening with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Recipe yielded 4 dozen mini donuts, perfectly put into the pan via the ziploc bag method. I made a chocolate glaze from a handful of dark chocolate chips melted with a tablespoon of butter. I glazed half with that chocolate (even added some sprinkles to a few) and half with the dipped in melted butter then tossed in powdered sugar idea. The later produced a great glaze. Just tossed in powdered sugar was good too, but super messy. None if them were pretty, but they are flying off the plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
If you add some soluble coffee crystals to the wet mixture, they dissolve and add a wonderful kick to the cupcakes. Great addition to you coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (except I used buttermilk) and thought these came out dry and not very tasty. Luckily my kids didn't care, but I was super disappointed and will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Surpisingly good for a baked doughnut. To try out my brand new Wilton doughnut pan, I made only half the recipe (6 doughnuts). After reading ALL the reviews for this recipe, I decided to eliminate the cinnamon, use buttermilk instead of milk, and substitute melted butter for the shortening, increasing the amt. for the half recipe to 1 tablespoon. The doughnuts baked in a preheated 400 degree oven for exactly 9 minutes. After cooling, I dipped them in the glaze. NOTE: I had to increase the amt. of confectioner's sugar to obtain the consistency I desired. All in all, pretty darn good. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States