Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
How adorable! I used vanilla almond milk instead of dairy and subbed the shortening with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Recipe yielded 4 dozen mini donuts, perfectly put into the pan via the ziploc bag method. I made a chocolate glaze from a handful of dark chocolate chips melted with a tablespoon of butter. I glazed half with that chocolate (even added some sprinkles to a few) and half with the dipped in melted butter then tossed in powdered sugar idea. The later produced a great glaze. Just tossed in powdered sugar was good too, but super messy. None if them were pretty, but they are flying off the plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
If you add some soluble coffee crystals to the wet mixture, they dissolve and add a wonderful kick to the cupcakes. Great addition to you coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (except I used buttermilk) and thought these came out dry and not very tasty. Luckily my kids didn't care, but I was super disappointed and will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Surpisingly good for a baked doughnut. To try out my brand new Wilton doughnut pan, I made only half the recipe (6 doughnuts). After reading ALL the reviews for this recipe, I decided to eliminate the cinnamon, use buttermilk instead of milk, and substitute melted butter for the shortening, increasing the amt. for the half recipe to 1 tablespoon. The doughnuts baked in a preheated 400 degree oven for exactly 9 minutes. After cooling, I dipped them in the glaze. NOTE: I had to increase the amt. of confectioner's sugar to obtain the consistency I desired. All in all, pretty darn good. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
My daughter & tried these tonight and did not care for them. My son liked them, but he's MIKEY, he'll eat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made these in my bakery years ago, in muffin tins. I dipped them in melted butter while still warm and rolled them in cinn & wh sugar. I could not keep them in stock, and now I make them for pleasure....a big hit where ever they go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sergerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I also used buttermilk. And they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I got a donut pan as a gift today so, despite the fact that I baked 3 dozen donut muffins yesterday, I had to try these out! I followed Jmyslin's (the pastry chef) review, and omitted the cinnamon, used buttermilk in place of milk, and used melted butter in place of shortening. Then, after baking, I dipped them in melted butter and rolled them in a combination of cinnamon, white sugar and brown sugar. Wow! They are springy and rather light. Moist and tasty! The butter/sugary coating is the icing on the cake! (see what I did there? A baking pun!). Next time I make them, I will try them with the glaze...and will probably make it chocolate. These are wonderful, and I highly recommend them! Thank you for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great for the mini donut maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made these doughnuts using a doughnut pan I bought on clearance and didn't know what to do with. I had used other recipes and got a "muffin" taste every time. I went with the suggestion of the pastry chef's review and omitted the cinnamon and I used buttermilk as the liquid and melted butter instead of shortening . they tasted exactly like Doughnuts. I guarantee it's the nutmeg that you'd never expect. I will try dunking in butter and sugar next time. I used powder sugar and they were delicious. I will make these for a bake sale fundraiser at my husbands office and see how they do. One tip for a mini doughnut pan is to take a piping bag or a ziplock bag with the tip cut off one edge to pipe the batter into the rings to get them even and keep from wasting and spilling lots of batter. it makes a very pretty uniform round doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States