Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I thought it was just "okay". Had kind of a spongy texture, which I wasn't fond of. And was a little too sweet for me. I guess it just wasn't the recipe I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made these for breakfast this morning and they were yummy! I took the pastry chef's suggestions and used sour milk and butter and rolled in the cinnamon/sugar/brown sugar mixture. I don't have a donut pan so I just baked these in a regular sized muffin tin at 400 degrees and they were very tasty. I can see how baking in a donut pan or a mini muffin pan might be better since then you could coat the whole thing in the cinnamon/sugar mix. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I used "sour" milk and decided to omit the cinnamon and nutmeg after making one batch with and one without. Since I was making mini donuts, I followed others advice and baked at 400 for just 5 minutes. They will not look brown at all, but as long as they spring back when touched they are done. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made a small batch by adjusting servings. I had craved doughnuts. As I didn't own the proper pan, I used the muffin tin. My son said it tasted just like the commercial glazed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My kids ate these up!! I followed Jmyslin's amendments and they turned out nice and perfect. My kids ask for donuts all the time but I hate buying the fried donuts for them, so they only get them on occasion. I felt good about making these for my 3 kids this morning. I made the white glaze icing with vanilla (I can't find my almond) and I also made a Chocolate glaze with 1/2 tsp of maple extract. Not sure if I will use maple again but it was good just not the chocolate I was looking for. Super Easy to make and quick to bake. I used a mini muffin pan and NOW I need a donut pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom272

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I sell home baked items at our local farmers market. These are much better than the fried doughnuts for that purpose because they can be made ahead (and even frozen before frosting). To avoid melting in the sun, I melt chocolate chips and drizzle on the doughnuts. I have one out as an example and keep the rest (packaged two at a time) in a cooler. They sell out almost every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a winner! Whole family loved them. I have wanted to try making baked doughnuts with my doughnut pan and this recipe was so good. The doughnuts were moist and tasted perfect even without any topping. (although rolling them in cinnamon and sugar was soooo good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening and used melted butter and almond extract to toss them in before tossing in cinnamon sugar. Also, I used mini muffin trays and cooked at 400 for about 8 minutes. They were AMAZING. I'm going to try making them again but healthier, but they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made these as per the recipe...they were dry and not edible, even with the glaze...i would never recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowcat316

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very good. The family loved them. We all tweak the recipe a bit so this is my tweak...Used butter like every one else. Made the soured milk. Increased temp to 375...here's the reason why...I don't have donut pans so I made them in my muffin tins and made sure I only used about half a cup of batter per "doffin" (that is my made up word for half donut half muffin) baked for 12 minutes and dipped in butter then cinnamon sugar...yum. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idleyld Park, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States