Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved this! My friends and I made it in the morning at a sleepover! It's delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is the recipe that came with the non-stick doughnut pan I ordered from Amazon. I made it last night exactly as written. The doughnuts were dense and flavorless. I tried one, gave one to someone else to try and I'm moving on to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VHanko
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Pretty darn good baked doughnuts! I used coconut oil instead of shortening and buttered the pan instead of sprayed. I used a mini-doughnut pan and yielded 40+ . Frosting was bad so I added 2 tbsp melted butter, some cinnamon, pinch of salt, and just over a tsp of maple syrup... it came out great! After dipping the doughnuts I put them in the fridge for a couple minutes to solidify the frosting. I would definitely make these again, they are a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are easy and delicious! I used the Babycakes Mini Donut Maker and they came out great! They're better right out of the maker/oven! Delicious with morning tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Gave this a 4 star because I had to adjust a couple things. I wanted only a plain doughnut so I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg. I dont have a doughnut pan so I used a muffin tin. I followed the recipe exactly except for the 2 spices I omitted. Filled the tins up 3/4 like it says. Only made about 10 though. However, after 10 minutes they weren't done. So, I added a couple more minutes on the timer at a time and checked. I think they baked for about 17 minutes in total. If they are springy and solid to the touch they are done. They didnt brown or anything so if they brown it was too long. After cooling, I made a chocolate glaze with 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 4 tb of cocoa powder, 3 tb of milk, and 2 ts of pure vanilla extract. Oh my God! They were so so good! Best ever with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I thought it was just "okay". Had kind of a spongy texture, which I wasn't fond of. And was a little too sweet for me. I guess it just wasn't the recipe I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made these for breakfast this morning and they were yummy! I took the pastry chef's suggestions and used sour milk and butter and rolled in the cinnamon/sugar/brown sugar mixture. I don't have a donut pan so I just baked these in a regular sized muffin tin at 400 degrees and they were very tasty. I can see how baking in a donut pan or a mini muffin pan might be better since then you could coat the whole thing in the cinnamon/sugar mix. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I used "sour" milk and decided to omit the cinnamon and nutmeg after making one batch with and one without. Since I was making mini donuts, I followed others advice and baked at 400 for just 5 minutes. They will not look brown at all, but as long as they spring back when touched they are done. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made a small batch by adjusting servings. I had craved doughnuts. As I didn't own the proper pan, I used the muffin tin. My son said it tasted just like the commercial glazed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My kids ate these up!! I followed Jmyslin's amendments and they turned out nice and perfect. My kids ask for donuts all the time but I hate buying the fried donuts for them, so they only get them on occasion. I felt good about making these for my 3 kids this morning. I made the white glaze icing with vanilla (I can't find my almond) and I also made a Chocolate glaze with 1/2 tsp of maple extract. Not sure if I will use maple again but it was good just not the chocolate I was looking for. Super Easy to make and quick to bake. I used a mini muffin pan and NOW I need a donut pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom272

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States