Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The recipe was not very good -- doughnuts were rubbery and tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just made these in my donut hole maker. Used buttermilk, and butter instead of milk and shortening. Rolled some in butter and cinnamon and sugar like suggested in one of the reviews. AWESOME. Easy, good, gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Not really like a doughnut at all. Not very sweet, and had a bread like texture. Kind of like big less sweet pancakes. They don't taste bad, but they're definitely not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
ehhh....not sure what to say about these. i don't think the cinnamon and nutmeg in the donut went well with the recommended glaze...seems like it would go well with either a chocolate glaze or by dipping the donuts in butter and then cinnamon sugar. the texture was pretty disappointing, too. i knew without frying them they weren't going to taste like dunkin' donuts, but these were pretty darn disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My family is going to LOVE me when they get home today! These turned out great! Followed the recipe as is, except that I baked them at 400 for 10 min. Now I am going to try making some substitutions to make them safe for my gluten/dairy free girlie and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didnt use shortening, instead I did 2TBSP of melted butter. I thought these tasted like muffins and lacked the right texture/ taste of a classic cake doughnut. Over all this doughnut was just OK for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Had the texture of rubber sponges and too much nutmeg flavor. Im glad i scaled the recipe down so didnt waste too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i didn't care for this recipe. It was simple, but there was no real flavor to it. I think I'll look for another baked doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am very pleased with this recipe. I baked them in my new donut maker and they baked up so fast! I halved the recipe to test out my donut maker and I was able to make 9 donuts. They are fluffy and flavorful! Will be using this recipe. didn't have nutmeg, but tasted great. ***UPDATE: I made half of the recipe again and used half white whole wheat flour and a scoop of flax seed. Brown sugar instead of white. I also, added 1/4 cup of fat free sour cream and used buttermilk instead of milk. They came out so much better and taste great! Oh, they are addicting. I was able to make 13 donuts in my donut maker from half the recipe. I used 1 heaping TBL of mix in each donut cavity. Yummy! I already ate 3 of them... :) --- Chocolate glaze: 1/2 cup semi-sweet choc chips, 2 teaspoons butter or shortening, and 1 teaspoon corn syup. melt in microwave 30 sec and stir til smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made my first batch according the the directions except for subbing butter for the shortening and it came out very well. They are different than traditional donuts, but you should expect that when making these. In the second batch I used Splenda for the sugar and they came out much more dense and chewy. I would not recommend making this substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States