Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i didn't care for this recipe. It was simple, but there was no real flavor to it. I think I'll look for another baked doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am very pleased with this recipe. I baked them in my new donut maker and they baked up so fast! I halved the recipe to test out my donut maker and I was able to make 9 donuts. They are fluffy and flavorful! Will be using this recipe. didn't have nutmeg, but tasted great. ***UPDATE: I made half of the recipe again and used half white whole wheat flour and a scoop of flax seed. Brown sugar instead of white. I also, added 1/4 cup of fat free sour cream and used buttermilk instead of milk. They came out so much better and taste great! Oh, they are addicting. I was able to make 13 donuts in my donut maker from half the recipe. I used 1 heaping TBL of mix in each donut cavity. Yummy! I already ate 3 of them... :) --- Chocolate glaze: 1/2 cup semi-sweet choc chips, 2 teaspoons butter or shortening, and 1 teaspoon corn syup. melt in microwave 30 sec and stir til smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made my first batch according the the directions except for subbing butter for the shortening and it came out very well. They are different than traditional donuts, but you should expect that when making these. In the second batch I used Splenda for the sugar and they came out much more dense and chewy. I would not recommend making this substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I saw the high reviews for these doughnuts and excitedly scrambled to make them. I was optimistic because of the 5 star ratings, and even more optimistic when I tasted the batter and it tasted JUST like a bakery doughnut. That optimism faded when I took these out of the oven. These doughnuts feel and look like rubbery sponges--almost like the top of a mini bagel. When I broke one apart, it even looked like a sponge. The flavors present in the batter, which I'd rather eat raw, amalgamate into a dense (not fluffy/light as many reviewers suggest) sponge-like cake/doughnut/ring. The texture is rubbery, and the flavors somehow disappear once baked. These doughnuts even fail aesthetically because they don't brown. And if you manage to brown them, that probably means they'll be dry. The suggested glaze also didn't work for me. I don't know what I would put on these to make them taste better. I suggest the melted butter + cinnamon/brown sugar/sugar combo. I followed the recipe exactly, but used a mini doughnut pan. However, the only difference I think the regular doughnut pan would have made would be even bigger rubbery sponge cake/doughnut/ring/blobs. If you want the pros, they're really easy to make, and they don't make any crumbs when you eat them. Very disappointing. It will be a while before I attempt another baked doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Used this recipe to try out my 2 new mini donut pans. They were okay and fun to make but I'll look for another recipe. I wouldn't call these "fluffy". I wanted a fluffy donut like you get in a shop. If I cant have that then I'd rather go for a denser cake donut. These were pale as reviews said but they looked fine to me...especially once glazed. I shook half in a baggie with cinnamon and sugar, it stuck well if done when the donuts were hot. Glaze was ok, I had to add more liquid. Dipped the tops in it then let dry on a rack. Glaze set up nicely! I thought this recipe was very easy to make but I just want a different consistency next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
wasn't crazy about these, had a weird texture not cake like and not doughnut like. frosted with chocolate frosting, they were ok but i'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made these for a coworker's birthday. Much easier than fried yeast donuts. All my coworkers loved them, but I'm not a fan of cake donuts in general. I made almond glazed, vanilla glazed, chocolate glazed and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I didn't have a doughnut pan to hand, so I used a normal cupcake pan and it seemed to work. The doughnuts took twice as long to cook as the recipe indicated, and even then I think they might have benefited from a few minutes more. They tasted vaguely doughnutty hot, but as soon as they cooled down the flavor was mostly soft. All in all though, these reminded me of a (rather nice) cake. I liked them, but they were not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! I used butter instead of shortening and omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg. The donuts came out great in my baking pan, though they took closer to 18 minutes to bake. I also made the Satiny Chocolate Glaze to ice these with, which came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States