Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
these were very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
There was something missing from this recipe. They were a little better the next day, but I do not think I will do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I really enjoyed these doughnuts as they were easy to make. It took me a little longer as I used an electric doughnut maker instead of a donut pan. I will probably use less nutmeg and more cinnamon next time. My friends and family really liked them with the glaze on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I tried the chocolate glaze she recomended and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I absolutely hated this recipe. I couldn't even get my cat to eat it. She took one sniff and actually tasted it ans spit it out. So I guess it smells good but it made my stomach hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I recently bought one of those mini-donut pans and as it did not come with a recipe went looking for one. This is the first one I found that had 'normal' cake-like ingredients so I went for it. The heck! The batter was so thick and dry it was a trial to get it into those little donut cavities and they came out all warty and lumpy on top, because they didn't smooth out. Also, they were very very dry. Guess I'll go look for some more recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
The nutmeg in the recipe is wierd tasting, and the almond extract in the frosting is too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Would give this recipe a miss. Have just made these donuts using my donut pan [have lost my original recipe which came with pan-most annoying!] following the ingredients and method exactly and I have to say that the end result were heavy little rubber cake type things. odd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
they were weird and rubbery. tasted too much like a muffin, with a texture like a gross little frozen bagel. i think part of hte problem was too little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I honestly don't understand why this recipe has gotten so many one-star reviews. I have made them twice now, and they barely lasted a day both times - my family just loves them! They are not Tim Hortons/Krispy Kreme donuts, but I wasn't expecting them to be either. I wanted something much lighter that I could use my donut pans for, and I think this recipe is perfect for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States