Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by cindybee23
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thanks to all the reviews I was able to modify my recipe. Left out the nutmeg and cinnamon. Used butter in place of shortening. I also used 2/3 cup of pastry flour in place of regular flour, I wanted a softer consistency to the donuts. I would've added more pastry flour but that's all I had on hand. We got a mini donut maker and ended up making 38 mini's. Found a chocolate glaze recipe on this site to dip the little guys in. Finished with sprinkles! Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Ok, so I bought a donut pan a while back and tried the recipe that came with it and they were HORRIBLE. So I have been in search of a good recipe and came across this one. Read the reviews and used some of the tips and I have to say...I was very pleased! Loved the pastry chef's tips, so that is what I did. I didn't care for the plain glaze, but I did make a chocoloate one that was really good, and the cinnamon/sugar/brown sugar topping is perfect! I brushed with butter and coated them well. Whoever said these are dry must have overbaked them, and if you didn't get good results, then it is operator error...sorry! Mine were quite most and fluffly, just like the recipe says. You can tweak the flavor of this donut for sure. Going into my file for keeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were delicious. I did make some changes - I used cake flour, buttermilk, and melted butter to replace the AP flour, milk, and oil. I also baked at 400 degrees and they still took 10 minutes to be done. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The batter smells delicious, but that's the only good thing about this recipe. The doughnuts had the rubbery texture and the egg-y flavor of a bagel. I was very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were slightly more dense than I was hoping for, but making the changes described in other posts (buttermilk instead of milk, butter instead of shortening. I cooked at 400 degrees for 9 minutes. Really tasty with a cinnamon sugar coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The recipe was not very good -- doughnuts were rubbery and tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just made these in my donut hole maker. Used buttermilk, and butter instead of milk and shortening. Rolled some in butter and cinnamon and sugar like suggested in one of the reviews. AWESOME. Easy, good, gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Not really like a doughnut at all. Not very sweet, and had a bread like texture. Kind of like big less sweet pancakes. They don't taste bad, but they're definitely not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
ehhh....not sure what to say about these. i don't think the cinnamon and nutmeg in the donut went well with the recommended glaze...seems like it would go well with either a chocolate glaze or by dipping the donuts in butter and then cinnamon sugar. the texture was pretty disappointing, too. i knew without frying them they weren't going to taste like dunkin' donuts, but these were pretty darn disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My family is going to LOVE me when they get home today! These turned out great! Followed the recipe as is, except that I baked them at 400 for 10 min. Now I am going to try making some substitutions to make them safe for my gluten/dairy free girlie and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States