Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Used 2 tbs butter instead of the shortening, omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg in the batter, and instead followed the suggestions to dip the doughnuts in butter and cinnamon sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I took another viewers suggestion and baked doughnuts whole in a mini cupcake pan. I made the following changes: I used 1 1/2 cups of white flour, 1/2 cup of cake flour, added 1/4 tea of soda, used buttermilk instead of milk and used melted butter not shortening. It took longer to bake, about 13-14 mins, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I was disappointed in this recipe. For all the rave reviews, I thought it was kind of boring and plain. I think it could probably be made more exciting by adding different flavors, but it's also a little dry, so it definitely needs more shortening/butter. Not terrible ... just not what I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This were excellent. I did use buttermilk instead of milk and 2T of melted butter instead if shortening. As one reviewer suggested cooked at 375 for 12 minutes they are fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We have a mini donut maker and I have been testing recipes since Christmas to find one that works well and tastes good. This one turned out perfectly!! The taste amazing :-) I may add some extra cinnamon next time just for more of the taste, but it is also great the way it is. We split the glaze up into 2 cups, one with strawberry extract and one with the almond with a little dark chocolate cocoa powder added. Fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindybee23
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thanks to all the reviews I was able to modify my recipe. Left out the nutmeg and cinnamon. Used butter in place of shortening. I also used 2/3 cup of pastry flour in place of regular flour, I wanted a softer consistency to the donuts. I would've added more pastry flour but that's all I had on hand. We got a mini donut maker and ended up making 38 mini's. Found a chocolate glaze recipe on this site to dip the little guys in. Finished with sprinkles! Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Ok, so I bought a donut pan a while back and tried the recipe that came with it and they were HORRIBLE. So I have been in search of a good recipe and came across this one. Read the reviews and used some of the tips and I have to say...I was very pleased! Loved the pastry chef's tips, so that is what I did. I didn't care for the plain glaze, but I did make a chocoloate one that was really good, and the cinnamon/sugar/brown sugar topping is perfect! I brushed with butter and coated them well. Whoever said these are dry must have overbaked them, and if you didn't get good results, then it is operator error...sorry! Mine were quite most and fluffly, just like the recipe says. You can tweak the flavor of this donut for sure. Going into my file for keeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were delicious. I did make some changes - I used cake flour, buttermilk, and melted butter to replace the AP flour, milk, and oil. I also baked at 400 degrees and they still took 10 minutes to be done. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The batter smells delicious, but that's the only good thing about this recipe. The doughnuts had the rubbery texture and the egg-y flavor of a bagel. I was very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were slightly more dense than I was hoping for, but making the changes described in other posts (buttermilk instead of milk, butter instead of shortening. I cooked at 400 degrees for 9 minutes. Really tasty with a cinnamon sugar coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States