Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The taste of these donuts was wonderful, however the texture was not all that great. I found them to be very tough in the end and were much too dense even for cake donuts. If you make these I really would suggest being careful to only mix until the dry ingredients are wet and not anymore. Mixing until "well blended" will only make them hard and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I have to say I wasn't super impressed with these. They turned out kinda like sponge cake which was not what I was going for. My hubby loves donuts and I was wanting to make something more like the heavy cake donuts that Dunkin makes. He said he liked them ok anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were yummy and so easy to make! Will be doing these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by TINACABINA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I took the milk out and put buttermilk instead (another reviewer had mentioned doing this), left out the cinnamon and it was great! I received a donut maker for Mother's Day and the recipe that it came with was terrible! So glad that I found this one. I dipped the tops in melted butter when they came out and then dipped them into cinnamon sugar (which is why I left cinnamon out of the actual recipe) right away. I can hardly wait til my daughter gets home from school because she'll be so surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Relatively quick and easy...love that they are baked, not fried. 3 kinds of glaze and the 5 year old has to ask..."but where are the caramel ones?" So like his dad ! Caramel glaze - next week !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Pretty good for baked donuts. :) Made in a mini cupcake pan rather than a donut pan. Makes about 30 mini cupcakes/donut holes. Added a little more powdered sugar to the frosting than what was listed. Would be good dipped in chocolate frosting too! They don't keep as well as traditional donuts though (probably because they're not covered in oil), so plan to eat them with 24-48 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I wish they were a little more fluffy and less dense but everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This makes for a pretty good doughnut. I made mine 3 ways. Chocolate glazed, powdered sugar, and cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
How adorable! I used vanilla almond milk instead of dairy and subbed the shortening with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Recipe yielded 4 dozen mini donuts, perfectly put into the pan via the ziploc bag method. I made a chocolate glaze from a handful of dark chocolate chips melted with a tablespoon of butter. I glazed half with that chocolate (even added some sprinkles to a few) and half with the dipped in melted butter then tossed in powdered sugar idea. The later produced a great glaze. Just tossed in powdered sugar was good too, but super messy. None if them were pretty, but they are flying off the plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
If you add some soluble coffee crystals to the wet mixture, they dissolve and add a wonderful kick to the cupcakes. Great addition to you coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States