Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm sorry, I just didn't care for the flavor of this recipe. I even tried the altered recipe of the pastry chef and didn't care for the flavor of the doughnut. I just wanted a nice flavorful doughnut. I didn't want to have to add lots of sugar, whether granulated or powered, or coat with a glaze to get any flavor with lots of carbs. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I don't like cake donuts -- I'm a Krispy Kreme girl m'self. So it was with some trepidation that I tried these, and I'm very glad that I did! I halved the recipe just to try it out, and because CHOCOLATE, I used 3/4 C flour and 1/4 C cocoa powder. I also took jmyslin's suggestion and made them in gem pans hit with a shot of Pam; I, too, used butter rather than shortening (HATE shortening!!!), and I used buttermilk in place of milk simply because I had it on hand. I only added a dash of the spices, and I used vanilla instead of almond extract in the glaze. They are nothing like the cake donuts from the bakery, more like a dense cupcake, which is probably why I like them. Once the rest of the world gets tired of their electric donut makers and starts donating them to Goodwill, I'll pick one up for cheap and make "official" donuts with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Great baked doughnut recipe. Very easy and fast. They were gone in seconds. I used a chocolate frosting/glaze. 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 4 Table cocoa, 4 Table milk, 2 teas vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Tastes just like store-bought cake donuts, only better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelsMom1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
With a few changes this recipe turned out really well. I followed others suggestions and used buttermilk and melted butter in place of the shortening. I put all the batter into a plastic bag and snipped off a corner to make it easier to pipe into the wells of the pan. I used a donut pan and baked them at 400 degrees F for 8-9 minutes. I let them cool and dunked them into a chocolate frosting I made using 2 TBS melted butter, 2 TBS hot, 2 TBS cocoa powder and about a cup and a forth of powdered sugar. The frosting/glaze will set up quickly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I am 63 and now retired. My wife still works so I am learning how to do the cooking. I tried this recipe, this was easy!! the second time I made this recipe I used Pam Baking Spray on the doughnut pan and not a one stuck to the doughnut pan. My wife wants me to make them again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The taste of these donuts was wonderful, however the texture was not all that great. I found them to be very tough in the end and were much too dense even for cake donuts. If you make these I really would suggest being careful to only mix until the dry ingredients are wet and not anymore. Mixing until "well blended" will only make them hard and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I have to say I wasn't super impressed with these. They turned out kinda like sponge cake which was not what I was going for. My hubby loves donuts and I was wanting to make something more like the heavy cake donuts that Dunkin makes. He said he liked them ok anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were yummy and so easy to make! Will be doing these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by TINACABINA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I took the milk out and put buttermilk instead (another reviewer had mentioned doing this), left out the cinnamon and it was great! I received a donut maker for Mother's Day and the recipe that it came with was terrible! So glad that I found this one. I dipped the tops in melted butter when they came out and then dipped them into cinnamon sugar (which is why I left cinnamon out of the actual recipe) right away. I can hardly wait til my daughter gets home from school because she'll be so surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States